Spicy Pumpkin Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I made the recipe only substituting pecans for the almonds. I got rave reviews and requests for more. I own a small family type restaurant and always like to try new and different things. Everyone should give this a try, it is easy and very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
After reading all the reviews, I was a little nervous about trying this recipe however, I was pleasantly surprised at how my fudge turned out. I did cut down the butter to 1/2 cup and increased the pumpkin to 1 cup as recommended by some of the other reviewers. I also increased the pumpkin pie spice by about 1/4 of a teaspoon and added another 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon. I used a candy thermometer but did stop stirring before the 234 degree mark because my arm was getting tired!! (I think I was at about 228.)I also used the white chocolate chips --2cups--verses the butterscotch morsels. I added these 1/3 of a bag at a time, to minimize the chance that the mixture would seize and turn to sugar. My fudge turned out very smooth and creamy. This fudge has a nice taste and creamy texture and is a wonderful flavor for the fall season. It is VERY sweet so small pieces are plenty. My family and I will be making this one again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This was such a unique fudge! It's very existence warrants 5 stars even if I made some changes. Okay, so here they are: I used rice krispies instead of almonds. After absorbing the moisture of the fudge, the rice krispies added a texture not unlike coconut, but it was still nice. I used 1/2 cup butter to insure that the fudge set-up and was happy with the drop in fat. I used 1 whole cup of canned pumpkin, which really added to the overall pumpkin flavor. I omitted the butterscotch chips altogether (nobody seemed to like them so I just did it) and used 1 1/2 cups white chocolate chips and 1/2 cup cinnamon chips. The fudge ultimately came out tasting a lot like pumpkin pie without the awful consistency. I did not have a candy thermometer so the first time I made this, it came out the consistency of granola or small grain gravel. It wasn't until later that I realized that you have to boil it over medium (not high) heat. The 2nd time around, after that adjustment, the fudge turned out great. I boiled over medium-high heat ("7") for 11 minutes (just to be safe) and had no problems. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BC ByH2O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
I could not get this to set either. I used a candy thermometer and got it to exactly 234 degrees...so I don't know what went wrong here. It tasted great though if you don't mind eating it with a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cabot, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
This is a great recipe! I halfed the butter, left out a cup of sugar, and used half white choc. chips instead of all butterscotch. I also left out the almonds (didn't have any) but I threw in some Rice Krispies just for kicks and it was great! Even with reducing the sugar it's still super rich, so you could probably cut back even more if you feel so inclined :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
If you want the pumpkin flavor to come through, use vanilla baking chips or white chocolate chips. Then, the recipe is a 5 star for me. The butterscotch chips are too dominating and the pumkin flavor just can't come through. I prefer this without the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This tasted great! The only thing is that the butterscotch was so overwhelming that it really blocks out the pumpkin taste that I was looking for. Rename this "Butterscotch" fudge and this is 5 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
It tasted very good but although it has spices and pumpkin, I don't really feel that those are the main flavors. It's more of a butterscotch fudge with a hint of pumpkin spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlie Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
The first time I tried this fudge it turned to sugar when I dumped in the chips (white chocolate). Also I only used 1 stick of butter as someone suggested. I just tried it again, using 2 sticks of butter as called for. I gradually added the chips and had no problem. Since I didn't have any pumpkin pie spice I used 1 1/2 teaspoons of cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon of cloves, and 1/4 teaspoon ginger. Wonderfully different recipe and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Great flavor, unfortunately it never set up. I did however have some of my friends still attempt to eat it with a spoon. Wouldn't make it again, wouldn't even try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States