Spicy Pork Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
I surprised that this recipe has gotten such high marks. I carefully followed the directions and used the right ingredients, but I was very disappointed. The pork was nice and tender, but the flavor was not particularly enjoyable. I love spicy food, but this is not a recipe that I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
This was very good! I didn't put as much of the chili oil as it called for. It still had a kick though! I added some celery and water chestnuts too and instead of the peppers I used crushed red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGQUEEN75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
I agree on this being a good base for other things but my whole family and I really liked this just like it is. Its very easy to do. Very good, thanks! Update: Ive had to come back and change my rating to 5 star from 4. Every time I make this I have to double or triple the recipe or there isnt enough. My family inhales this. Once they ate it so fast, I didnt get any (teach me not to fix drinks etc for everyone. noone waited on me!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
Modifications I made: omitted the cornstarch from the marinade (for fewer carbs); sliced the pork thinly instead of cubes (turned out nice and tender!); used lemon b/c I had it on-hand; omitted chile peppers and chili oil, using instead a tsp. or two of red pepper flakes, fried with the ginger; added 1 sm red bell pepper and 1/2 white onion, omitted green onion; didn't bother to julianne the peas and didn't chop the peanuts. Turned out spicy enough for our tastes (I like a little bite but no burn), but the vinegar overwhelmed the rest of the flavors. The lemon juice may have also played into the overpowering tang this dish had. I'll use this recipe as a base in the future but do something a little less tangy for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
I thought this was great. I loved the flavor. I didn't have chili oil so used red pepper flakes instead. I just about tripled the "sauce" (lime juice etc) but only used 1.5 chili peppers. I didn't have the snap peas, but did have broccoli and mushrooms so I included those. This is for sure a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
it lit my mouth on fire! nice job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
This received mixed reviews at my house. My son gave it 5 stars and my husband gave it 3. I enjoyed the unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
This recipe was very tasty and unique. There are just a few things I will tinker with, including the amount of chili oil (or substitute). It was spicy, but perhaps not as spicy as it could have been. We did not use the chopped peanuts included at the end of the recipe, and I think it did not make the slightest difference. We will definitely add this one to our "recipe rotation"! Thanks, Lorna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
My family loved this recipe. I added some cabbage, red bell pepper, and a little more chili oil than specified. After I dished out my son's portion, I added some crushed red pepper to spice it up even more (we love spicey food). The pork was very tender and flavorful. No leftovers means this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
Very tasty! I added sliced mushrooms, bell peppers, and white onion. We really enjoyed this recipe but it was not as spicy as I expected. I will turn up the heat next. A definite keeper! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States