Spicy Pork Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
loved this! So much flavor; will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Very good - I made revisions according to my taste. I used leftover pork loin roast that I julienned, so I omitted the marinade (cooking time was also reduced overall). I also omitted the chili peppers, as I don't like such blazingly hot food I can't taste anything else (plus I didn't have them). The chili oil was changed to a 1/2 tsp. of chili paste with garlic (and I added a few quartered mushrooms to the veggies). Very nice quick weeknight dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tewksbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
There is a great mix of flavors and textures in this recipe if you don't blow it by following it too closely (ha!). The lime and vinegar are definitely strong, even for a lime and vinegar lover like myself. I ended up adding sugar at the end to even up the field a little, but the consistency of the sauce was great as written (I was a little surprised at that - I thought there might be too much cornstarch). I like my veggies barely-done to crisp-tender, so the 6-8 minutes on the carrots and peas would have killed this recipe for me. I also added mushrooms and zucchini. I cooked the pork first and set it aside, then did the mushrooms, added the carrots for a few minutes, then the zucchini, snap peas, and pork in just to heat through (which got my zucchini and peas just the way I like them). I like the spice and the overall flavor, but definitely had to play around with this to get it where I wanted it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I left off the chilies so it was quite mild. Used lemon instead of lime, cashews instead of peanuts, because that was what I had. Very good pork dish as well as an inexpensive meal. We buy the pork shoulder and other non loin cuts. Cut off chunks for dishes like this and then use all the rest including fat for making sausage. So you can have a good yet inexpensive meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
As I was making this, I thought it was going to be wonderful because of all the tasty ingredients. Unfortunately, the lime juice overpowers everything else. My partner and I only thought this recipe was OK as is. I probably won't make it again, but If I did I would reduce the amount of lime juice to allow the other flavors (ginger, sesame oil, etc.) to shine through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly, I used Lo Mein Noodles and it was excellent.My husband loved it and there were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Like others, I added more vegies: water chestnuts, long beans, sweet yellow pepper, shitakes; and bumped up the sauce a bit with more of everything plus little water (otherwise way too salty), and because we love it with pork, oyster sauce. My family all had seconds and I really enjoyed it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Snow likes to cook
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This was very tastey. I omitted the chile oil and the chile because my son doesn't like hot food. Instead ofusing peanut oil I used 2 ts. of olive oil. Was a hit, I also only used 1 1/2 ts. of sessame oil because of the fat grams. My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I made some adjustments to this recipe so I'm going to rate this manly on the sauce so here goes. I used a left over cooked tendorloin that I grilled last night. I thought it would work because the marinade was lime, garlic, ginger, peppers, soy and sesame oil. For the folks that thought it had a lot of lime flavor...maybe use half a lime. That is what I did because I had a large lime. I think what folks may have been picking up on was the acid flavor from the lime and from the rice vinegar. I thought the sauce flavor was ok. The next time I would cut back the rice vinegar to 1 TBS and increase the soy or eliminate the lime or the rice vinegar (I'm not sure you need both). I also would use 1/2 of a SMALL lime if you want to. I also added a clove a garlic (what stir fry doesn't have garlic?) I actually had to re-read the recipe to make sure I didn't miss it. I would add more garlic next time (2-3 cloves). The recipe called for green chiles. In the Southwest that can mean many different things. I used 1/2 jalapeno and I would use a whole one next time. I think you loose a lot of the "heat" when you heat up the jalapenos. I did add the chile oil in the end, but it was not spicey for my taste (my pickey one ate it with no complaints read not spicey at all). All in all it was an ok recipe. I have some other stir fry recipes that I enjoy better. I think this one could be tweaked to make an outstanding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Very Tasty. I do think next time I will add a bit more sauce to it. I also forgot to add the chili oil and the nuts, but I will add that to the leftovers. But this was tasty without those things. I think I'd like to add water chestnuts next time too. I served this over some shirataki noodles. Yummy and filling dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States