Spicy Pork Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
As I was making this, I thought it was going to be wonderful because of all the tasty ingredients. Unfortunately, the lime juice overpowers everything else. My partner and I only thought this recipe was OK as is. I probably won't make it again, but If I did I would reduce the amount of lime juice to allow the other flavors (ginger, sesame oil, etc.) to shine through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly, I used Lo Mein Noodles and it was excellent.My husband loved it and there were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Like others, I added more vegies: water chestnuts, long beans, sweet yellow pepper, shitakes; and bumped up the sauce a bit with more of everything plus little water (otherwise way too salty), and because we love it with pork, oyster sauce. My family all had seconds and I really enjoyed it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Snow likes to cook
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This was very tastey. I omitted the chile oil and the chile because my son doesn't like hot food. Instead ofusing peanut oil I used 2 ts. of olive oil. Was a hit, I also only used 1 1/2 ts. of sessame oil because of the fat grams. My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I made some adjustments to this recipe so I'm going to rate this manly on the sauce so here goes. I used a left over cooked tendorloin that I grilled last night. I thought it would work because the marinade was lime, garlic, ginger, peppers, soy and sesame oil. For the folks that thought it had a lot of lime flavor...maybe use half a lime. That is what I did because I had a large lime. I think what folks may have been picking up on was the acid flavor from the lime and from the rice vinegar. I thought the sauce flavor was ok. The next time I would cut back the rice vinegar to 1 TBS and increase the soy or eliminate the lime or the rice vinegar (I'm not sure you need both). I also would use 1/2 of a SMALL lime if you want to. I also added a clove a garlic (what stir fry doesn't have garlic?) I actually had to re-read the recipe to make sure I didn't miss it. I would add more garlic next time (2-3 cloves). The recipe called for green chiles. In the Southwest that can mean many different things. I used 1/2 jalapeno and I would use a whole one next time. I think you loose a lot of the "heat" when you heat up the jalapenos. I did add the chile oil in the end, but it was not spicey for my taste (my pickey one ate it with no complaints read not spicey at all). All in all it was an ok recipe. I have some other stir fry recipes that I enjoy better. I think this one could be tweaked to make an outstanding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Very Tasty. I do think next time I will add a bit more sauce to it. I also forgot to add the chili oil and the nuts, but I will add that to the leftovers. But this was tasty without those things. I think I'd like to add water chestnuts next time too. I served this over some shirataki noodles. Yummy and filling dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
It's not very often that I give such a low rating, but this was terrible!! I think the name should be changed to Lime Pork Stirfry, as this was the predominate flavour in the dish. Sorry:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
Interesting combination. I don't think I would add quite as much vinegar but other than thatit was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Solid recipe. But do yourself a favor and cut up an onion and add it during the rest of the vegetables. Then don't kill yourself trying to find chili oil in your lousy local supermarket. It ain't there. Instead, get some of that Thai Chili Sauce in the ethnic aisle and let people decide on their own level of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
It was OK at best. It was a little bit too sour and not very spicy, not the taste I expected at all. I followed the recipe exactly, so maybe with a little less sour flavour it would be better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States