Spicy Pork Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This is a WINNING recipe! I followed the recipe, but I left out the sesame oil (didn't have any on hand) and I added a little sugar to the lime mixture. I also used the Kirkland stir fry frozen veggies. Needles to say there were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This was a lot of work and did not turn out like I hoped! We love Chinese food from PF Changs to Panda Express to homemade, but this jusdt didn't work. Way too much lime flavor. I made a special trip to the store to get the chili oil and fresh ginger so that I could follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I made this for a quick meal and I loved it. The changes I made were from the suggestions from other reviews. I did not use the chille oil or green chille peppers. But added sugar to the lime sauce for the end of the recipe and added chille pepper flakes 2 pinches and cayanne pepper to taste. It was not too hot, but very favorful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Maybe I'm just not into Sichuan-style food. Anyway, I found this to be a lot of work (actually it was fun to prepare as a result!) but not very exciting in flavor. I'm not into spices and didn't really like the flavor underneath the spices. My husband didn't care for it much either. But it could just be our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Very good - had to play with the ingredients a little based on what was in my cupboard - I used lemon juice, instead of lime, and sambel oolek instead of fresh chilies. I added mirin to the sauce. I used crushed cashews instead of peanuts. Overall it turned out great and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisporte, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Stephenville, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I made this per the recipe, but added some additional vegetables. The sauce ended up tasting very strong on the vinegar which ruined it for everyone. Two stars were generous considering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Great recipe! I was doing a multi course Chinese dinner and accidentally put this pork preparation on my chicken, and the orange chcken prep on my pork, both turned out TASTY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
loved this! So much flavor; will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Very good - I made revisions according to my taste. I used leftover pork loin roast that I julienned, so I omitted the marinade (cooking time was also reduced overall). I also omitted the chili peppers, as I don't like such blazingly hot food I can't taste anything else (plus I didn't have them). The chili oil was changed to a 1/2 tsp. of chili paste with garlic (and I added a few quartered mushrooms to the veggies). Very nice quick weeknight dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tewksbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
There is a great mix of flavors and textures in this recipe if you don't blow it by following it too closely (ha!). The lime and vinegar are definitely strong, even for a lime and vinegar lover like myself. I ended up adding sugar at the end to even up the field a little, but the consistency of the sauce was great as written (I was a little surprised at that - I thought there might be too much cornstarch). I like my veggies barely-done to crisp-tender, so the 6-8 minutes on the carrots and peas would have killed this recipe for me. I also added mushrooms and zucchini. I cooked the pork first and set it aside, then did the mushrooms, added the carrots for a few minutes, then the zucchini, snap peas, and pork in just to heat through (which got my zucchini and peas just the way I like them). I like the spice and the overall flavor, but definitely had to play around with this to get it where I wanted it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States