Spicy Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
Used a little less flakes and hot sauce, and this was still plenty hot for us. I thought it needed some salt (but I love salt). Served with ruffled pasta and steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
My husband and I loved this recipe. I blended 4-5 tomatoes, 2 jalapenos, 1/4 onion and several healthy shakes of tapatio, but im sure the recipe will change each time dependent on what I have on hand. I would use a can of mexican stewed tomatoes or Rotel Mexican recipe next time as well. I also browned the pork chops with salt and pepper on each side for a couple minutes before removing to sautee the onions and peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I've made this 4 or 5 times now, since I have a bottle of dried sage I need to use up. I've made this exactly as written, except that I didn't think I had a skillet large enough for this dish, so I used a large pot with a glass lid. I sauteed the veggies for the full 3 minutes, even though I didn't think this step would do much for the recipe. Oh, and I seeded the bell pepper, but not the jalapeño. And I cooked the whole dish for 30 minutes. This dish kind of grew on me. It's pretty easy to make, and the pork chops cook well, and taste pretty good. The sauce isn't spicy enough for me - in fact, I found it surprisingly mild, given the spicy ingredients. But I'd still recommend this as a quick, easy, tasty and spicy pork chop recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Whew! That's one spicy tomato sauce!! And I only used 1 TSP of crushed red pepper and no hot sauce since I was out. My husband and I love spicy foods but I'm glad I reduced the red pepper. Otherwise, it was very good. I made a few substitutions to use what I had on hand but no drastic changes. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and tomato sauce instead of tomato puree, and I used thin pork chops instead of thick pork chops. Overall, the dish had a great flavor but would be very spicy as written. However, it is an easy, spicy, healthy, quick one-dish meal that is only 4 weight watchers points. Next time I will cut back on the crushed red pepper and it will be a 5-star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
We made this using a lot of fresh, chopped tomato from our garden instead of using puree - we just let them cook down with the meat and the other ingredients. We used the dutch oven, which was the perfect pot for this recipe. Wonderful flavor from simple ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
This quickly became a favorite. I make it all the time. I am a sucker for 1 pan meals and this one sure pleases!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Wow. Was spicy, not for the faint of heart or children. My husband (a long time hot sauce lover) absolutely loved this dish (as did I). I didn't have any bell pepper and I used 4 different hot sauces (Tapatio, Franks, Chalula, Tabasco). I added a Tbs of minced garlic to the onions when they were sauteing. I also added about 2 tsp of salt to the whole dish. I used 6 thinly sliced bone out Pork Loin Chops. Served it with Stuffing and Suddenly Salad, with Hawaian Sweet bread. Wonderful and will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
My husband has started the Paleo Diet and we came across this recipe,because he cannot eat anything fried,no bbq, or anything with cheese. We usually aren't ones to try anything new either,but this turned out lovely. Tastey AND spicey! We would definetely recommend to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
We did not care for this flavor. For me it was the sage that added an odd note to the tomato sauce. It was very easy and I used boneless chops which cooked much quicker than bone-in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMNOP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This is freaking delicious! Very spicy since I added more hot sauce, and other spices. I would recommended this recipe to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

See a simple, inexpensive way to make tender baked chops.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States