Spicy Pizza Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Great unique soup! We found it a little greasy even though we cut the quantity of pepperoni in half and tried to skim off the grease (didn't work). We really liked it, but next time we'll try using turkey pepperoni. I bet it is great with bread sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Thought it was very good. Cook it in a large pot as it makes alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlepammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
My family enjoyed this soup. I used ground beef instead of italian sausage and a bag of mini pepperonis, only one green pepper and one onion, a can of sliced mushrooms and half a can of sliced black olives, and a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes. I added a lot of italian seasoning and parsley. I cooked the pasta seperate because I wanted to save some plain for my kids. I felt like it was missing something, not quite sure what though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I enjoyed this soup. After reading the reviews, I cut everything in half except the crushed tomatoes, the tomato sauce, and the water (I used half water and half beef broth). The consistency was perfect. I also sauteed the sausage and vegetables in olive oil before adding the other ingredients, to add that caramelization, and to reduce cooking time. I also added garlic and plenty of dried oregano and basil, plus just a pinch of sugar, and about a half cup of red wine. Oh, and for the pepperoni, I found these adorable little mini pepperonis, I think from Hormel. They are about the size of an aspirin. Perfect size for this. Easier than the minestrone that I usually make, and just as tasty. I'll make it again. Gave it 4 stars bc my husband thought it was just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armywife321

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
very greesy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Lynn Knecht

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This is quite delicious! Did not use mushrooms because of allergy. Used Turkey sausage and pepperoni for healthier dish. Also used Pizza sauce instead of Tomato sauce. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
MMMMM good. Tried using turkey pepperoni instead of regular. Still good, but I think next time I'll use the regular kind. Tastes like the inside of a calzone...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Loved it.....family was impressed....I did used lean turkey sausage and turkey pepperoni t cut the fat. I also used chicken broth instead of water....I did also add an aadditional 2c of water to this as I thought it was kinda thick because of the paste. Also added 1/2 a red pepper to all the veggies and 3 cloves of garlic minced. I cooked the elbows seperately and added to each persons bowl and then ladeled the hot soup over the cooked pasta. This was such a tasty pizza-y meal....it really tasted just like pizza w/o the crust. Will make again....thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I put mine in the slow cooker to see how it would turn out, well it came out very good. I browned the sausage, then added the green peppers and onions until slightly soft. I put the liquid ingredients in the slow cooker with garlic and italian seasoning, then added the meat mixture to it. Cooked on high for about 2 hours, then added the uncooked macaroni and turned the temp to low and left it there for probably 2 hours. I topped each serving with sliced olives and sprinkled with mozzarella cheese. This was thick enough to serve on a plate, which is the way my husband prefers his soup. I served this with garlic bread. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Great Soup. My whole family loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States