Spicy Pizza Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
It's amazing how flavorful this is without any added spices/seasonings. My family enjoyed it a lot so I will make it again. It's really reminiscent of sausages and peppers and it is very thick. I did not add additional water as others did so it was really a stew, not a soup. But I like stew. Very, very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Yum! While I prefer Keni's pizza soupreme (you can find this recipe on Group Recipes), this is a close second. You end up with pretty much the same soup in the end anyways (IMHO). As is, I felt this called for WAY too much meat, so I only used 1 lb. of sausage and a single (8 oz.) package of pepperoni (which I chopped). I added two bell peppers to my soup and saved the remaining one as garnish. Because my hubs and I HATE mushrooms, I left them out altogether. I used Italian seasoned tomato sauce, subbed chicken broth for the water called for and added a couple cloves of (minced) garlic and 1 t Italian herbs / 1/2 t crushed red pepper flakes. I mistakenly requested that my husband pick up GROUND sausage, so that's what I had to work with. :) My final change was to brown my sausage and veggies FIRST, and then add the remaining ingredients / spices and simmer as directed. With these changes, our soup was PERFECT! Topping each bowl with Italian-blend cheese, sliced black olives (for our dinner guest - we also HATE olives!), chopped green pepper and red onion really hit the spot. Garlic breadsticks rounded out our meal. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Tammie! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This makes a TON of soup! I agree with the other's that said that this needs more water. I added 3 additional cups. I also added some crushed red pepper flakes and Italian seasoning to taste and a can of diced tomatoes. This recipe freezes and reheats very well. Mmm, very good soup, thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I used only 2 green peppers, 1 onion, and less pepperoni then the recipe called for a felt this was still an extremely hardy soup. A good soup, just a little heavy on the meat for my taste! I think I might try using ground sausage next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Tasted too much like spaghetti sauce and not enough like I thought pizza soup would taste. My husband said he would not want it again and he'll eat about anything without complaint. Like others said, macaroni should be added to each serving seperately and not left in the pot. I used the leftovers as a pasta sauce the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This is one amazing soup! I was a little skeptical that it would actually be a good soup, even with the good reviews. I thought it might be a little bland or boring. But, boy was I wrong. The flavors are perfect. I did add about 3 cups of extra water because I wanted more of a soup consistency than a stew and cooked the pasta separately. I skipped the sausage because we're not big fans, but I know it would be just as good with the it. I garnished it with mozzarella, parmesan and some chopped olives. The perfect Fall soup, or anytime meal. Thanks for the awesome recipe that will be used many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I played with this recipe a bit to make it healthier and full of flavor without adding a ton of sugar or fat. I used ground turkey in place of italian sausage and I only added just a few slices of chopped turkey pepperoni just for the flavor. I did use red and yellow bell peppers as I don't care for green peppers, a ton of fresh minced garlic and two cans fire roasted tomatoes. I did cut back on the water a bit and used one can condensed beef broth and I took the suggestion from the recipe's description to add just a little chopped black olives. To make this more pizza-like, I added my own pizza seasoning blend which also helps make the ground turkey seem like sausage and adds more flavor instead of fat. I did not add the pasta only because I'm watching my carb intake. I browned the meat and sauteed the vegetables and just threw everything in the crockpot to cook all day. Already an hour and a half in and it smells incredible. This will feed me all week, two meals a day, it'll be incredibly filling and really low in calories not to mention.....it was cheap to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Good soup. I used turkey sausage and turkey pepperoni and only used a 1.5 pounds of meat total. I also added more of the veggies to make up for using less meat. After reading the reviews about it being too thin, I added an extra cup of water (which was good because it was a perfect soupy texture at the end). I tasted it about halfway through simmering and found it needed some flavour so I added granulated garlic and some pizza spice. I served it with breadsticks for dipping. It turned out really well - both my husband and brother liked it a lot. Plus there's lots of leftovers for lunches :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Great unique soup! We found it a little greasy even though we cut the quantity of pepperoni in half and tried to skim off the grease (didn't work). We really liked it, but next time we'll try using turkey pepperoni. I bet it is great with bread sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States