Spicy Peruvian Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
We recently spent 2 months in Peru and can't say that this dish reminds me of anything we ate while we were there, however my husband and I really enjoyed this pork. I used apple cider vinegar and added some of the orange juice to increase the marinade liquid and then let the meat marinade for 8 hrs. I also added cayenne as others suggested to make it spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was pretty yummy but I changed the recipe up a bit. I roasted fresh garlic and onions along with green chilis and tomatillos and pureed it all together. Instead or marinating, I dredged the pork in flour and quickly seared it. Cooking the flour adds better flavor. Then I threw it all in a crock pot and let it go for a few hours. I chopped fresh cilantro in just before serving and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I've made this twice now, and second time's the charm. First, save yourself work: rather than cubing the meat, cut it into larger pieces and marinade all day. The larger pieces makes browning the meat go faster. I'm not even sure browning adds that much. Second, I used cider vinegar and cut down the orange juice by a third the second time I cooked it, giving it a more mellow and lass acidic flavor. Third, and this was special: This last time, when the meat was tender (and before thickening the sauce) I removed the meat from the pan, put the liquid through a fat separator, added enough water to bring it to 4 cups, brought it to a boil, added 2 cups well-rinsed basmati rice, cooked the rice until nearly done and returned the meat to the pan to re-heat. The rice was a beautiful color and had great flavor, with one less pan to clean. Serve with plain yogurt, if desired. Broccoli or cauliflower make good side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Made this recipe with bone-in pork shoulder (rather than cubed) and it worked well. I marinated the meat in a plastic-zipper bag. Before adding the o.j. and water to the skillet, however, I first poured it into the bag to capture remaining spices, etc. I didn't find the liquid to be too much OR too little. Added vegetables as others suggested, including larger chunks of fresh zucchini. Since I browned the meat in an oven-proof skillet, I just slow-baked it (325 degree oven) right in the skillet for two hours; adding the veggies midway. Personally, I loved the flavor, the sauce and the addition of veggies. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keyboardlady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I instead used pork chops because that was all I had in my freezer at the time. I also added a teaspoon or two of aji amarillo paste for spice and served it all over plain white rice. Pretty tastly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
4-5 star 'if modified'. There's a few problems with this recipe. It's a good base but needs a lot of help. First off it's not spicy unless you add a lot to it. Secondly the 'marinade' isn't possible when the only initial liquid is 1/4 cup of vinegar and a bunch of dry spices. There's no way to just put the marinated pork in a pan to brown then add the marinade because the pork and spices absorb the small amount of liquid. Here's what I added to the marinade: cayenne pepper, sliced red bed pepper, multiple fresh garlic cloves, carrots. I did the marinade as stated but since there was no liquid to separate from the pork I put it all in the pan at once including all the things I added. Also this was put over white rice in the end so plan on making that too. Without that I'm not sure what you would do with it. Marinate the above, throw it in the pan, simmer for 40 minutes or until the pork is tender by fork, the add the orange juice, water, onion... etc for 4-5 minutes, then the flour to thicken. Serve over rice. Ends up tasting more like a mild spicy curry dish than anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Made as written, this is incredibly bland. Added some more seasonings but it was still pretty boring. Not quite sure what I could have done to improve it further. The orange juice and cumin flavors are a little weird together also. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Smelled better than it tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly...unfortunately my family just didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janene

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Followed recipe to a tee, the flavourings were tasty but I wasn't too impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States