Spicy Peruvian Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
My family thought this was wonderful for a change. I took advantage of another reviewer and added potatoes and carrots. I also added cayenne to spice it up. I would have thought that this is what is called a curry dish. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This was so delicious! A friend of mine from South America raved about it as well. I did make a few changes. After browning the pork on the stove top, I put it in the slow cooker. I deglazed the pan with the liquids, including a splash of white wine, and poured that into the slow cooker. I added extra juice to cover the meat. 45 minutes before serving, I added cubed potato, slivered onion and chopped tomato (20 minutes before serving). I thought this made the dish more authentic when compared to our local Peruvian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I've made this twice now, and second time's the charm. First, save yourself work: rather than cubing the meat, cut it into larger pieces and marinade all day. The larger pieces makes browning the meat go faster. I'm not even sure browning adds that much. Second, I used cider vinegar and cut down the orange juice by a third the second time I cooked it, giving it a more mellow and lass acidic flavor. Third, and this was special: This last time, when the meat was tender (and before thickening the sauce) I removed the meat from the pan, put the liquid through a fat separator, added enough water to bring it to 4 cups, brought it to a boil, added 2 cups well-rinsed basmati rice, cooked the rice until nearly done and returned the meat to the pan to re-heat. The rice was a beautiful color and had great flavor, with one less pan to clean. Serve with plain yogurt, if desired. Broccoli or cauliflower make good side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Over rice, this is an inexpensive and filling meal. The flavors reminded me of an Indian dish served in an authentic restaurant. I prepared the marinade and pork the night before, so it was a snap to cook up. I did add a sprinkle of cayenne pepper: I'd suggest that for anyone who wanted it actually SPICY. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
This recipe is outstanding! Lovely flavour and texture. I added a few florets of cauliflower and a little more water to the meat on the second day, simmered it gently for about 20 minutes or so and it was delicious! I also served it with buttered, steamed potatoes and it made a lovely meal. Many thanks Kimber. This is most certainly a "do again".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Made this recipe with bone-in pork shoulder (rather than cubed) and it worked well. I marinated the meat in a plastic-zipper bag. Before adding the o.j. and water to the skillet, however, I first poured it into the bag to capture remaining spices, etc. I didn't find the liquid to be too much OR too little. Added vegetables as others suggested, including larger chunks of fresh zucchini. Since I browned the meat in an oven-proof skillet, I just slow-baked it (325 degree oven) right in the skillet for two hours; adding the veggies midway. Personally, I loved the flavor, the sauce and the addition of veggies. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keyboardlady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
This is YUMMY! I gave it to my college class at Harvard and everybody devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Flavorful and easy to make. I needed to add a lot more spice to make it spicy, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was pretty yummy but I changed the recipe up a bit. I roasted fresh garlic and onions along with green chilis and tomatillos and pureed it all together. Instead or marinating, I dredged the pork in flour and quickly seared it. Cooking the flour adds better flavor. Then I threw it all in a crock pot and let it go for a few hours. I chopped fresh cilantro in just before serving and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
We recently spent 2 months in Peru and can't say that this dish reminds me of anything we ate while we were there, however my husband and I really enjoyed this pork. I used apple cider vinegar and added some of the orange juice to increase the marinade liquid and then let the meat marinade for 8 hrs. I also added cayenne as others suggested to make it spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States