Spicy Peach Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I want to start off by saying that we have always loved Chef John's recipes, rating them all 5 stars, but we did not like this one at all. We had 5 adults that ate it and only one said that it was O.K. It was WAY to acidic for us so we added extra sugar which made it better but still not good. I will not be making this again but will continue to try other Chef John recipes as they are normally amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I like where this recipe was taking me but not where it ended up. I used Sriracha and was a little worried that a whole tablespoon would be too much spice, so I started with a teaspoon. Not enough. Two. Too much for us. Not overpowering, but wanted it a little gentler. It was good, but different like that. I did end up adding more sugar to make up for the extra spice. I like the premise of this recipe and I will make a version of it again. I liked the extra sweetness that I got when I added the extra sugar and did like some of the bite of the Sriracha, but I should stick with 1 teaspoon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Just made this for a bar-b-q....It was a huge hit... Something different than the usual cole slaw. I also added toasted sliced almonds on top for taste and contrast. It was quick and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
This was awesome! I used a pepper jelly and didn't add the cayenne pepper because I didn't have those items. But, it turned out delicious anyway. The BF loved it. Next time, I'll try it as written. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This could be a gourmet coleslaw, and it was very good. The peaches made a nice tangy addition, but it is entirely too spicy as written. The next time I make this I will cut the Chili pepper sauce to half a tablespoon or less. I don't like my food to have an afterburn. Maybe it was the type I used--so if you're going to make this recipe either know your chili paste well, or use caution with one you're not familiar with. I opened a new jar of something I had never used before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This recipe sounded really good to me. I have a mango coleslaw recipe we love, but this one really lacked the wow factor. I ended up adding a bit more siracha and vinegar, but something was still missing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
The sweetness of the peach contrasts nicely with the hot sauce and cayenne, but be cautious with how much you use (as other reviewers have noted). Ridiculous as it may be, I had 4 different kinds of hot sauces/chili pastes in the fridge, tasted each, and went with the mildest. Even then, I didn't use the amount specified, and we're probably middle of the road on spiciness. As we all know, you always can add more, but you can't take it out. And this is not a criticism of the recipe because spiciness is subjective, so each person should adjust to his/her own liking. This was a nice change from the same old-same old style of coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Nice fresh, fruit flavors. Needs a bit of tapioca to hold it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This was a great recipe. I was a little nervous to bring it to a BBQ last weekend from the reviews I read. Pulled Pork was being served by the host, and I brought the slaw. This was so tasty! I made it exactly like it said. However I used my Ninja to blend the dressing and to cut the cabbage up. The peaches were very sweet against the slaw. The spices were very mild but that worked well because the pork was spicy and the slaw kind of had a slow burn to it. It says it makes 6 servings, well there were 12 people at the BBQ and I had enough for grilling out the next evening for another 4 people. Everyone commented on how much they liked it and asked for the recipe. WIN for allrecipes and a WIN for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Easy to make and peaches add a wondrous flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Aw-Some Coleslaw

A quintessential, simple recipe for perfect coleslaw.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States