Spicy Peach Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I'm not sure why my reviews are being edited considering my opinions are always fair and non judgmental. Some recipes are hands down winners and some just aren't. Opinions are just that. So, here's my second attempt at writing an honest review. I did not care for this at ALL. For one, this was VERY tangy! There was barely any sweetness to balance the tangy-tart vinegar, mustard and lemon flavors. Secondly, this had an oddly spicy aftertaste (from the Sriracha) that just didn't belong, IMHO. I rarely ever toss good food, but this time I couldn't resist. Maybe this will float your boat, but it did absolutely nothing for me. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
It was too spicy and I left out the cayenne. Will make again with less hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
This was awesome! I used a pepper jelly and didn't add the cayenne pepper because I didn't have those items. But, it turned out delicious anyway. The BF loved it. Next time, I'll try it as written. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Fabulous flavor, a new family favorite! Make a generous amount; I might make 1/2 recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Coffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
The sweetness of the peach contrasts nicely with the hot sauce and cayenne, but be cautious with how much you use (as other reviewers have noted). Ridiculous as it may be, I had 4 different kinds of hot sauces/chili pastes in the fridge, tasted each, and went with the mildest. Even then, I didn't use the amount specified, and we're probably middle of the road on spiciness. As we all know, you always can add more, but you can't take it out. And this is not a criticism of the recipe because spiciness is subjective, so each person should adjust to his/her own liking. This was a nice change from the same old-same old style of coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Nice fresh, fruit flavors. Needs a bit of tapioca to hold it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This was a great recipe. I was a little nervous to bring it to a BBQ last weekend from the reviews I read. Pulled Pork was being served by the host, and I brought the slaw. This was so tasty! I made it exactly like it said. However I used my Ninja to blend the dressing and to cut the cabbage up. The peaches were very sweet against the slaw. The spices were very mild but that worked well because the pork was spicy and the slaw kind of had a slow burn to it. It says it makes 6 servings, well there were 12 people at the BBQ and I had enough for grilling out the next evening for another 4 people. Everyone commented on how much they liked it and asked for the recipe. WIN for allrecipes and a WIN for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This could be a gourmet coleslaw, and it was very good. The peaches made a nice tangy addition, but it is entirely too spicy as written. The next time I make this I will cut the Chili pepper sauce to half a tablespoon or less. I don't like my food to have an afterburn. Maybe it was the type I used--so if you're going to make this recipe either know your chili paste well, or use caution with one you're not familiar with. I opened a new jar of something I had never used before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Easy to make and peaches add a wondrous flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I made it exactly per this recipe, but it was lacking. I then added more sugar, then more salt, then again more sugar and more salt. Finally added more mayo & that did it! So Chef John does say that the ingredients are per taste, and he means it literally!!! I'm now going to try the toasted almonds as suggested by Mary Thomas' review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Pickled Ginger Asian Pear Coleslaw

See how to make a great fall and winter coleslaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States