Spicy Peach Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
This is great with grilled salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
This is a great chutney, with just a touch of heat. My family loved it with a curry dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
Very, very good! The house smelled wonderful while the chutney was cooking and my guests and I enjoyed the finished product. This chutney would be good with pork, chicken, fish - I served mine alongside cornbread with a barbecue meal. I halved the recipe, and it yielded exactly 3 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
This is an excellent recipe, but several items should be noted: the prep time is NOT 8 hrs. 3 - 4 Hours is realistic, including canning time. I added 1/4 c fresh finely chopped jalapenos to add a little spice. The chili powder did not add enough heat for my taste. I also added 1/2 bulb of garlic instead of just a few cloves. I found it difficult to find preserved ginger, so I used crystalized ginger in the same portions. Easy to make and has been such a delight for my entire family - including extended family - that I made a 2nd batch. I doubled the recipe to use as gifts later this year. Thank you for the nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
It actually took me 4 hours to cook this down to the desired "proper" chutney consistency. The taste is great, but I am not sure that others are sure how thick chutney is supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemuela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This recipe took a loooong time. I know chutney and it took four hours for this to get to the right consistency. However, it did turn out great, so if you have the time, this is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
I am the original submitter of this recipe. I feel compelled to write this review after reading the last couple reviews. Some have said that it takes at least four hours to get the chutney to a thick consistency. When I first made this recipe, I also felt that it was a little thin, but I went ahead and processed it anyways. When the chutney had cooled off after processing it was quite a bit thicker. I still only cook the chutney for 1 1/2 hours. I also wanted to note that the recipe says that it takes 8 hours for prep. That is an error that all recipes made when printing the recipe. It doesn't really take much more than 30 minutes to do the prep work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
249 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I really liked this recipe. I thought I would share my notes on how I made it this year using Pomona's Pectin to speed the cooking process and so I can make it again next year. Thanks Shana for posting such a great recipe. Spicy Peach Chutney 4 pounds sliced peeled peaches 1 cup raisins (I used golden) 2 cloves garlic, minced (I used a little less and added about ½ Tablespoon of salt while mincing) 1/2 cup chopped onion 5 ounces chopped preserved ginger ( I am going to try grated peeled fresh next time) 1 1/2 tablespoons chili powder (cayenne) 1 tablespoon mustard seed 1 teaspoon curry powder 4 cups packed brown sugar (possibly dark brown due to use of 1/3 white sugar) 4 cups apple cider vinegar 1/4 cup pickling spice (Tampico smells better than Mojave brand to me) MODIFICATIONS TO ORIGINAL INSTRUCTIONS TO USE POMONAS PECTIN: (The advantage to this is reduced cooking time and better control over jelling) Boil 2/3 of brown sugar, vinegar, spice packet, and can add onions and garlic now or after 10—15 minutes depending on texture desired. Boil until reduced by 1/3 to ½ over high heat should reduce into a syrup. About 1 minute prior to adding peaches add rest of spices. I used cayenne pepper for heat instead of chili powder and mix. Add peaches and calcium water as per recipe for peach jam for volume you are making using hot method on Pomona’s pectin box recipe insert.Take 1/3 sugar(white) and mix pectin very well with hand into sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Shana, I modified this recipe. My husband cannot stand the smell of garlic. So I did not use garlic or onions. I used only two cups of brown sugar. I used a teaspoon of cinnamon,and turmeric. one tablespoon of my own curry powder that contains sesame seeds, flax sseds, urud and channa dhal,fennel, cumin, coriander red chilli pepper, black pepper etc. My peaches are from my tree. One helpful suggestion regarding peeling Peaches-- Blanching. Soak the peahes in boiling water for five minutes, drain, cool and then peel. I also sterilize bottles in a pressure cooker. I am a microbiologist, sterilizing with steam under pressure is the best technique of sterilizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Great recipe! My family loves it over Brie cheese! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States