Spicy Peach Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I gave this chutney as Christmas gifts for 2009 and kept a couple of jars for myself. I just loved it and am going to make it again tomorrow (just for moi!) The way I ended up using it the most was with goat cheese and crackers AND...mixing 1/2 Vegenaise and 1/2 chutney to use on my Boca Burgers (I'm certain that this would be just as awesome tasting using real mayo and real burgers) Yum yum...Can hardly wait for tomorrow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I have been making this same recipe for about 40 years now (I've lost track of the number of batches). A couple of things I have learned: 1. Mix all ingredients in a large bowel, cover with a dish cloth and let sit overnight - the flavor becomes deeper 2. Cook time for thickness will vary based on the ripeness of the peaches. I usually cook 2 hours... and as suggested when my patience is not there or time does not allow, a little pectin goes a long way. 3. Roasted garlic if you have time adds a slightly more robust taste. This is a standard in my house with grilled meats and salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
If it looks like soup or a sauce, don't panic! CHEAT! ;) You can still save your time and money you invested. Just add some gelatin and/or pectin. You can find it in any large grocery store in the baking isle and it only costs a couple of dollars. One box should do it. It will vary depending on how long you have cooked down the chutney. I wished I didn't leave mine on the stove simmering while I went to the store. I would have liked it more fresh than dark brown Also, I would slice the peaches a good centimeter in thickness and cut the segment in half. Because when you cook down the chutney, you want some peach substance left over. Once you have added the pectin, you won't notice the set until you have cooled the chutney down. Anyways, it may not be te conventional way, and I'm not too sure it changed how the original recipe's was suppose to taste, but it shouldn't have and worked and tasted great! I just gave it a stir after I cooled it down in the fridge and I got nice thick chutney suitable for Indian Royalty. If you're looking for something a bit different then this is the one. There is no doubt that when you serve this to your guests, that it's homemade, cause you can't buy something like this in the store. But make sure you have fun with the recipe and play with it..make it your own, if you love onions, add more onions. That's the fun of cooking, and if you're like me, it's never the same the next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
fabulous chutney recipe! i had peaches from my tree to use up and this was perfect! i made it just as it was written, except i used golden raisins, and crystallized ginger (couldn't find any preserved). i simmered it for a little longer than 1 1/2 hours only because my canning jars needed a little longer to sterilize ;) turned out wonderfully though, my mum loves chutney (british and used to good indian food) and she raved and asked for another jar. makes a great gift. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by easycookinmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This adds way to much liquid. No amount of cooking will reduce this to the semi-paste consistency of good chutney which is just slightly thinner than marmalade. I've been simmering for nine hours and I still have soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Turned out great ... added extra garlic as suggested and was happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
We love all types of chutney's, but not this one. Save your peaches for something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I shared this with many friends, including my husband who has been eating chutney all his life and everyone raved about it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Great recipe! My family loves it over Brie cheese! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Shana, I modified this recipe. My husband cannot stand the smell of garlic. So I did not use garlic or onions. I used only two cups of brown sugar. I used a teaspoon of cinnamon,and turmeric. one tablespoon of my own curry powder that contains sesame seeds, flax sseds, urud and channa dhal,fennel, cumin, coriander red chilli pepper, black pepper etc. My peaches are from my tree. One helpful suggestion regarding peeling Peaches-- Blanching. Soak the peahes in boiling water for five minutes, drain, cool and then peel. I also sterilize bottles in a pressure cooker. I am a microbiologist, sterilizing with steam under pressure is the best technique of sterilizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States