Spicy Oven-Roasted Plums Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Delicious as is! I eat this over vanilla bean ice cream. I also didn't have cardamom -- but it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkpigeon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Campania, Italy
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I thoroughly enjoyed this recipe; thank you so much for sharing it! I doubled my batch, and followed the recipe exactly. First time I baked with plums, and I'm so glad I tried this one. I'll bet these would be great pureed into a sauce - what a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
WOW! These were so wonderful and couldn't have been any easier to make. I followed the recipe exactly, and WOW! I wasn't sure about the combination of spices, so I made a test batch, but WOW...I'll be using the rest of the plums to make this for a delicious dessert to bring to my neighbors party! WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VJUNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Delicious. I had intended to serve this dish as an accompaniment but as soon as I tasted them just out of the oven, I decided that we should have this as a dessert sauce with French vanilla ice cream. So we did. I made this as written except I didn't have cardamom so I omitted it. Also, I used six plums instead of four. Going forward, I would probably double the recipe to ensure plenty of the liquid, and I would perhaps cut the plums into quarters rather than halves if serving as a dessert sauce. If it is being served with an entree, then the plum halves would work fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Honestly, the cumin had me concerned, but not to worry, this was delicious. The sauce thickened somewhat after cooling down a bit. Give this a try, it's not only tasty and easy, but GOOD FOR YOU too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Awesome. Perfect as a summer treat. I added some toasted almonds and topped this with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Makati, National Capital Region, Philippines
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Fast, easy, and very good -- my toddlers even licked it up! But I do think it could be even better if it had a companion flavor to complement the spicy sweet-tartness of the plums. Next time, I think I'll serve it with a sweet biscuit or with Vanilla ice cream. in the hopes that might take this recipe from very good to fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Triumph327
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
We love this recipe! My wife didn't know what to think when she saw me add cumin to our dessert dish but absolutely loved the result. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Excellent way to use up some plums from my tree! They were still a bit tart after I made them, so I sprinkled some sugar on after baking and that seemed to help. I served mine warm with butter pecan ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrabbApple

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
The sauce is fab. I used one whole orange liquified in the blender, so my sauce was plenty thick. Tart plums, though...kinda killed it. I think I'll cut these suckers up and drown them in another batch of the sauce with some extra sugar. And then, I think I'll make a pitcher of the sauce (using whole oranges) and serve it warm for parties. It smells so good while it's baking! Wish my plums hadn't been so tart :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States