Spicy Oven Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
My husband and I loved loved loved this one! We love it hot...it didn't affect us too much, because we burned off our taste buds long ago..hehe. But we really loved it. My grandfather, however, was sweating by the time he was done! AWESOME for adults...but I don't think many kids will enjoy the hotness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHICKLETTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2002
We loved this spicy hot chicken recipe. I doubled it for the 5 of us using 8 breasts & there were no leftovers. The recipe didn't say whether to cover the chicken or not during baking so I did it both ways and it was much better covered with foil. It tasted more like sauteed chicken. Uncovered was crispier & more like fried chicken. I will definitely be making this on a regular basis...thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
This is a very good recipe. I used thighs instead of breasts and it turned out great. I love a good, crispy coating and this was just the ticket. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
This recipe was very good and had a wonderful spicy flavor but the problem was that my coating all fell off in the pan. It did not stay on the chicken. I followed the recipe exactly. If anyone has any suggestions on how to keep the coating on I'd love to hear them as the flavor was wonderful but not sure I'd make it again due to the coating not staying on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
Chicken was very tasty, but bottom got soggy in the oven. Is there any way to avoid this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
I didn't bother browning the chicken in the olive oil. Instead, I just placed the chicken on my preheated pizza stone and it turned out great. I've found using the pizza stone for alot of chicken recipes keeps the chicken moist and outside quite crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
One way to avoid a soggy crust is to bake the chicken on a rack. Take the rack out of a roasting pan or use a self standing a cooling rack. Set it on top of or inside (depending on whether or not is is a standing rack) the pan you're cooking the chicken on. Lay the chicken on the rack. Air will circulate under the chicken and the bottom will not be soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
Delicious and easy -- my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2002
This was great. My husband loves spicy foods, but it wasn't too spicy for my kids, they loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
The chicken was a little too spicy for me and my son wouldn't eat it at all. My husband liked it though, so if you like spicy food, this one's for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States