Spicy Oven Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This was pretty good. I left my chicken to soak in the buttermilk overnight and after coatong my chicken I put it in the fridge to set for 1/2 hour or so. I would like to try again with thigh meat to see how that comes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
My family liked it. I only marinated for 1/2 hours and I skipped frying it in olive oil. Instead, I sprayed it with butter-flavored Pam and baked it on a rack as suggested by others. Will make again. In fact, son has requested recipe to give to his girlfriend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
very spicy...use less Tabasco!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by massageldy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This is a great recipe. I added some cajun seasoning along with the cayenne pepper. Turned out fantastic. Best tasting chicken I ever had that was baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Blair, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Just made this. I didn't have any bread crumbs for the first time in 10 years so I used crushed corn flakes. I also used a whole chicken that I cut up and skinned. I split the browning part up into two batches to not crowd the pan. I used about two tablespoons of olive oil for the first batch....not enough and the pan was not hot enough. Half the batter fell off. I upped the heat and oil for the 2nd batch and it seemed to work much better. The problem was that wherever I tried to touch the chicken the batter fell off. It still came out delicious. I'm going to half to try this a few times to get the batter sticking issue fixed. I may try an egg or two the next time around. I have a question for anyone to answer: Does anyone else freeze the marinade and bread crumb mix for the next batch? I've been doing that for years and haven't had a problem. If I had raw meet in it I put the expiration date the same as I would for whatever meat I marinaded in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This was ok. I didn't really like the paprika in it and felt it needed something else but not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veedubgrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I made this exactly as written as far as the ingredients, but did take other reviewers' advice and used a roasting rack to prevent the chicken from getting soggy. My chicken came out nice and crispy w/ no sogginess. Great recipe overall, though perhaps a bit too salty. I think in future I will use garlic powder rather than garlic salt and same w/ the onion salt. Or, possibly just omit the regular salt. The chicken was juicy and the topping crispy and spicy. Thanks Anna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN78RN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I left out the hot sauce and cayenne to make this milder for my kids. They loved it! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Delicious! Baked on a cooling rack set in a baking sheet to avoid the chicken getting soggy underneath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Would have given 5 stars for the flavor if the breading would stay on and the bottom would be crispy. After browning (which took off quite a bit of the breading - will try Linda MClean's suggestion next time (used her ranch dressing suggestion); placed chicken on rack in oven, but the bottoms still came out soggy - and they were crisp from the browning when they went in! Great flavor, tho, and will keep trying to find a solution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Fried Parmesan Chicken

A quick and tasty way to jazz up your chicken dinner.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Triple-Dipped Fried Chicken

See how to make the crispiest, tastiest homemade fried chicken ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States