Spicy Orange Zest Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Chef John, you have done it again! We made this tonight and it turned out perfectly. Really easy to make and has a wonderful flavour. We used only about 1 to 1.5 tablespoons of orange zest, which I think was the perfect amount - anything more than that and I think it would be a little too orangy for me. I will definitely make this again and would highly recommend it to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I got this in my inbox this morning and made it for dinner tonight. It was awesome. The whole family loved it. It is definitely a do-over in our house! We actually splurged for the tenderloin and it was so tender. I only used 1/2 of the chili sauce though because of my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Steilacoom, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
You might not wish it to be "Chinese" or "Americanized Chinese"...but sorry, it is very much in line with the flavors of Americanized Chinese. rice wine vingegar, soy sauce, hot chili paste...yeah, Chinese. That said, this is freaking awesome and my entire family and I mean grown children, husband, grandkids, and my father and a few cousins LOVED it. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryJaneHarrison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Pretty good! Actually very similar to Orange Beef in Chinese restaurant. Added a bit of diced fresh ginger root, and even though the chili paste (with garlic) is a pantry stable in my house, my wife isn't a fan of the heat as I am, so I just added a bit, to give some zest, and had the bottle at table for me to add more. Also added some red and green pepper strips for both flavor and color. BTW, when you fry the beef, it is essential to use high heat and not stir it around so the Maillard reaction to take place. Really enhances the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoghat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Excellent recipe! How can you beat 5 minutes and it's ready?! My household is on the SB Diet so I did a few variations and it came out great. Swapped splenda and honey for the brown sugar, siracha sauce for the hot chili paste and used brown rice. Placed it all on top of fresh baby spinach. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Tasty & yes, spicy too. I didn't use tenderloin - but sirloin and I sliced the meat into thin strips. I used a smoking hot wok - cooked the meat and removed it from the wok - added the reserved marinade and brought to a boil - let it reduce a bit and then added the meat back in gave it a quick stir and dinner was ready. This is a fun and really fast meal. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
EXCELLENT! I also used sirloin (it's more economical for us), and it came out perfectly tender! I doubled the sauce ingredients (except the hot chili paste...yes, I'm a wimp!) b/c I wanted enough sauce to put this over jasmine rice...perfect! I allowed this to marinate about 3-1/2 to 4 hours. The flavors of this are really good...nothing overpowering, just right, IMO. I will def be using this simple, delicious recipe again and again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Very good! I only had fajita-type meat in the fridge, but I followed the rest of the recipe and it came out really well! Even my picky-eater boyfriend said I should make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
PERFECT:- I made this last night and I will surely make it again. Thank you John. I also added you to my Chefs list. Keep up the good work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARLOLINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I've made this delicious meal twice - once with tenderloin as written, and once with sirloin. I personally prefer the heartier taste and texture of sirloin, so I think that's how I'll continue to make this dish in the future. My only other change was to use lite soy sauce to keep the sodium somewhat in check. For the reviewer who gave this dish three stars based solely on the complaint that this dish is too "orangey", I would suggest making it again, but omitting the orange zest. You might then find it a perfect balance of flavors for you. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States