Spicy Orange Zest Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
WOW! This one's a keeper! Chef John never ceases to amaze me with his recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chas
Living In: Spencer, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly. There is too much liquid. Next time I would reduce and then thicken the marinade in a saucepan and then add to the stir fry. Overall the taste was a bit bland, but I think a reduction with solve this. For visual interest I would cut green parts of onions 2" long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Great dish! Entire family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Tried this tonight because I had all the ingredients in the house. Very easy and having the video is great. I had frozen some orange zest and defrosted it, along with sliced frozen orange slices. Added some broccoli that I had cooked the other night. The flavor was excellent and I was glad not to use oil and sugar. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This was very good. I used gluten-free flour instead of cornstarch due to food allergies. Nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prparks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This was very tasty my wife and I really liked it next time I will make more sauce and add some veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
It is very, very good although I modified the recipe a bit. By accident, instead of seasoned rice vinegar, I took white wine vinegar and I'm glad I did otherwise it would've been too tart. I used low sodium soy sauce and marinated overnight (yum). If you don't have this luxury, I really recommend to marinate for a good 4 hours and you'll see how much it can make a differance in taste. Instead of using cooking spray, I used sesame oil which inhance the taste of this dish. No salt... matter in fact, my husband and I never cook with salt and we prefer to have fun experimenting different spices...try it! About 30 seconds before I removed from heat, I added 2 tbsp. orange juice. Serve over jasmine rice....yummy! Thank you chef John for this recipe and also thank you for entertaining us with your videos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrancineL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I loved this but my husband wasn't sold on it. I used much less orange zest and it was perfect orange flavour. I doubled the sauce, sauted the veggies first then sauted the meat, thickened the sauce and combined it all. I can't wait to make it again :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This was good. Would make again. Have soooo many recipes saved on this site that I am not sure when I will try this one again...on to the next new one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This was quick to make but just OK to taste. It didn't taste like all my ingredients came together - some bites had too much orange while others had too much garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States