Spicy Orange Zest Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Will try again! It was very good, but I made a few mistakes: Used a wok too small for the volume of cubed beef... Too much liquid came outta the meat, hence no hard char...maximize surface area espcially for a big batch. Did not have a proper scraper & zested too much... Super tangy. Scraper on order w/ amazon ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Don't count on having leftovers! After the initial 2 minutes of cooking the beef, I removed it from the wok and stir fried some broccoli florets for three minutes, added sliced red pepper strips for another minute then tossed the beef back in to finish. I served it over Jasmine rice and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Most of my cooking is done after work and after working out SO I skipped the marinade (OH NOOOOOoooo), cubed the beef (I like big chunks of meat, what can I say!), salted and peppered the beef with a dash of cayenne, seared according to Chef John and just added the sauce following the directions to a T from there. Came out great and it only took me about 20 mins to make (minus the brown rice that takes forever and a day to cook!) The sauce is tangy, spicy and is delicious IMO, you definitely want some rice to soak it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
More orange flavor would have made it better. I used frozen orange juice thinking it would have more flavor, so more orange zest was definitely needed. 2 of 5 in my family gave it a 4.5 and another 2 of 5 gave it a 3.5 and 1 did not like it at all. I think I would have liked it with chicken a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
WOW! This one's a keeper! Chef John never ceases to amaze me with his recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chas
Living In: Spencer, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly. There is too much liquid. Next time I would reduce and then thicken the marinade in a saucepan and then add to the stir fry. Overall the taste was a bit bland, but I think a reduction with solve this. For visual interest I would cut green parts of onions 2" long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Great dish! Entire family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Tried this tonight because I had all the ingredients in the house. Very easy and having the video is great. I had frozen some orange zest and defrosted it, along with sliced frozen orange slices. Added some broccoli that I had cooked the other night. The flavor was excellent and I was glad not to use oil and sugar. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This was very good. I used gluten-free flour instead of cornstarch due to food allergies. Nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prparks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This was very tasty my wife and I really liked it next time I will make more sauce and add some veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States