Spicy Orange Teriyaki Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This was excellent! We made it as a glaze for boneless skinless chicken breasts and it was so flavorful. It took a little bit more than 20 minutes to thicken up, about 30 minutes. This would be great as chinese orange chicken. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Outrageous! I prepared the marinade, using crushed pineapples since that is what I had. Let me tell you, when I tasted the marinade it tasted pretty nasty and I almost didn't use it. I let the pork cubes marinade overnite. I added green peppers, fresh pineapple chunks, onions and cherry tomatoes to the skewers and just basted the skewers while they were cooking. Let me tell you - this was spicy but we loved it. This is going on my kabob rotation list. Thank you submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
I had to change this a little based on ingredients I had. I don't know how it tastes as stated but my pork loin turned out great. I omitted the chili paste and pineapple. I don't like spicy food and my husband doesn't like sweet food. It was perfect. I reserved the marinade and poured a little on the pork every 10 min. as it cooked. It made a nice glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Very good. The orange marmalade and cilantro added a nice flavor. I forgot the pineapples and it was still quite good. Looked good, too, with all of the specks of green cilantro and bits of orange rind from the marmalade. Try this at least once, it's a fun way to dress up teriyaki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
What an outrageous glaze and marinade this is! I marinated a pork tenderloin and then made a fresh batch of the recipe and cooked it on top of the stove for a glaze to pour over the top of the pork. All I can say is "OH MY GOODNESS"!!! I felt like a gourmet cook! This recipe is a nice touch. I did do a couple of things different. I used crushed pinapple which went nice with the chunks from the orange marmalade. I used fresh garlic instead of garlic powder. I marinated it with fresh ginger slices and used ground ginger when I cooked it on top of the stove. I even added a sprinkle of chinese 5 spice powder. I didn't have the chili paste so I used a sprinkle of hot pepper flakes and the other thing I changed was instead of chinese cooking wine (which I could not find) I used white wine. I just think the crushed pineapple added a nice texture to the glaze. GREAT RECIPE!!!! 5+ stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
This is out of sight with chicken wings! I made two small changes though. I used low sodium soy sauce and roasted garlic. This is fantastic with duck as well if you are roasting it on the spit. If you are a grill or barbecue fan...try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERRYGIRL400
Home Town: Greenup, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ayden, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
As I was preparing this recipe I must admit I was not at all confident that it would taste good, but it was fabulous! My husband loves spicy foods, and this is now one of his favorites! I couldn't find chili paste with garlic, so I just added a little extra garlic powder. Also couldn't find chinese cooking wine, or any cooking wine for that matter (living in England!) so ended up using white wine vinegar, and it was just fine. Also used crushed pineapple as some other reviews suggested. Used half of the recipe as a marinade for chicken and heated the other half for a glaze. To make it less hot, cut the chili paste in half, or to cool it off a bit, reserve some crushed pineapple to top your dish with before serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSMATLIKRD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
This is an unbelievably good marinade. If for no other reason than it turned me onto chinese chile sauce with garlic. Sometimes I will do a quick marinade with just the chile sauce & soy. But try this one if you have the ingredients... and don't skimp on the cilantro. I've used this marinade on pork and chicken. Both were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I love love love this as a glaze, I use it on shrimp, pork and chicken !! Every time I use it people think I am a hero!! only changes I made, is I used stir fry sauce in place of soy, to give thicker texture!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEGASWILDFLOWER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This was delicious, very flavorful. You can really smell the garlic and I was afraid it would be too much, but it wasn't. I thought the chili paste would make it hot, but it wasn't hot enough for me! I love food with a bite so I will add some pepper flakes next time. I used boneless rib pork loins that were $2/pkg and it took no time at all to cut them into bite sized chunks. I marinated them overnight and half the next day. Added cherries, green peppers and onions and made kabobs which came out very flavorful and tender. Company loved them and no one would ever guess how economical it was! We didn't grill them, Hurricane Gustav brought winds too high for that today! But broiled in the oven they came out great. Thanks for a fantastic recipe I'll use over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Orange Cumin Vinaigrette

A simple salad dressing seasoned with Dijon, orange zest, and cumin.

Spicy Mango Relish

A quick and delicious mango condiment for grilled seafood and meats.

How to Make Orange Supremes

See how to separate oranges into beautiful, pith-free segments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States