Spicy Orange Teriyaki Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
DELISH!! I didn't have orange marmalade in the house so I used what I did have - plum jelly. With the 2 Tbls. of chili paste, it was too spicy. But I can't wait to try it with the marmalade!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
DELICIOUS! I did use crushed pineapple instead of chunks because I felt that they would distribute better, but other than that I kept the recipe as is. I used 1/2 of it to marinate chicken thighs overnight, and the other 1/2 I cooked down to use as a glaze while they were cooking. Very tasty! I will be using this recipe again, for sure! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Excellent. My children ask for chicken made with this at least once a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Finally, a marinade for teriyaki chicken that has a KICK and actually really tastes like something from a restaurant. I used fresh garlic and fresh ginger and used no-sugar added marmalade. I also cut down a bit on the brown sugar. I'll admit that I didn't use *quite* the full amount of garlic-chili paste, but I was close! I doubled the recipe before I even started, based on several reviews. I knew I'd want some to cook down as a glaze after I cooked the chicken. I let three chicken breasts and several pieces of tofu marinate for about 3 hours and then grilled it all. The chicken was tender and delicious and I can't wait to eat leftovers with more of the glaze. We served this with baked crab rangoon and asparagus roasted with lemon/orange pepper. My family ate brown rice with theirs. Everything was wonderful and we'll definitely have this again and again. Thank you for a wonderful recipe...one of my favorites of all I've ever tried on All Recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
We absolutely LOVED this marinade on chicken breasts. It's sweet & spicy, just perfect. I prepared exactly as written with a couple of small exceptions, used prepared minced garlic instead of powder, sriracha sauce, and white wine vinegar instead of the chinese cooking wine. What more can I say, a keeper and a definite do-over. You hit this one out of the ballpark, Rhonda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Wonderful flavor. Instead of using it for a marinade, I stir-fried some chicken and veggies and used this for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kgadison
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I marinated 2 pork tenderloins over night in this, My husband grilled them on our rotisserie attached to the outdoor grill (also glazing the pork tenderloin with an extra batch I made).. Served with this site's "Fried rice with cilantro" (the rice is amazing!). The glaze was pretty good, The flavors were pretty muddled together, nothing really popped out, I don't think I'll make it again for pork, maybe chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This is really good. I marinated 6 large chicken breasts in it for almost 48 hours. I made as is except I only had plain chili paste so I just added a couple cloves of garlic and used mirin for the Chinese wine. I wished I would of also made some extra for a glaze - next time I will. This has nice heat so keep that in mind if you aren't into spicy. I think this would be even better on a couple pork tenderloins...yum. I didn't get to eat the pineapple as the previous reviewer stated cuz mine was in with the raw chicken but I'm sure it is good and I would actually use slices with the glaze for ease on the bbq when I make this again. Thanks for the great marinade recipe Rhonda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This is by far the best marinade I have ever used on chicken. I was a bit hesitant at first, seemed like a LOT of sambal (chili garlic) but it wasn't overwhelming at all. The sweetness of the marmalade must balance the heat somehow. I made this twice. Once we marinaded just for a couple hours, and the next time we let it sit for about 12 hours. Trust me, the longer you let it sit, the better! One note: Do NOT substitute crushed pineapples. The absolute BEST part of the whole meal is eating the barbequed pineapple cubes. I am sure the flavor would be the same on the chicken, but you don't want to miss out on the grilled pineapple. Its to die for! The only modification I made to the recipe was using Mirin ( Japanese cooking wine) in place of the Chinese cooking wine because that is what I had on hand. Followed everything else to a "T" and it made the perfect amount of marinade for 4 chicken thighs. If you are cooking more than that, I would advise you double the recipe. Thank you so much, this is our new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CLS
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Oh YUM! This is so good! Don't miss making this easy marinade/glaze, it's also great using it as a stir-fry sauce over veggies. Just simmer it as preparing for the glaze, and pour some over your stir-fry. Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Orange Cumin Vinaigrette

A simple salad dressing seasoned with Dijon, orange zest, and cumin.

Spicy Mango Relish

A quick and delicious mango condiment for grilled seafood and meats.

How to Make Orange Supremes

See how to separate oranges into beautiful, pith-free segments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States