Spicy Orange Teriyaki Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
GREAT recipe that I could slightly bend to my needs and adjust in small ways to not only use what I had on hand but to make a little healthier and a tiny bit less spicy for little mouths. I made this marinade this morning (but I did cook it before hand AND added cornstarch for a little thicker marinade--I just cooled it before I used it) and my house smells amazing and I haven't even tasted it yet. I can already tell it's going to be a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
WOW! What a fabulous marinade! I used low sodium soy sauce and only 1 Tbsp. of chili paste because I didn't want it too hot. I used real minced garlic vs. garlic powder and subbed seasoned rice wine vinegar for the cooking wine. I opted out of the cilantro and instead added thin sliced green onion. I cut the chicken into chunks for kabobs and pierced it lightly with a fork to let the marinade soak through. I put everything into a ziplock bag and let it marinate overnight. I skewered the chicken along with fresh pinapple and grilled it. The smell was heavenly and the result oh so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2004
What an outrageous glaze and marinade this is! I marinated a pork tenderloin and then made a fresh batch of the recipe and cooked it on top of the stove for a glaze to pour over the top of the pork. All I can say is "OH MY GOODNESS"!!! I felt like a gourmet cook! This recipe is a nice touch. I did do a couple of things different. I used crushed pinapple which went nice with the chunks from the orange marmalade. I used fresh garlic instead of garlic powder. I marinated it with fresh ginger slices and used ground ginger when I cooked it on top of the stove. I even added a sprinkle of chinese 5 spice powder. I didn't have the chili paste so I used a sprinkle of hot pepper flakes and the other thing I changed was instead of chinese cooking wine (which I could not find) I used white wine. I just think the crushed pineapple added a nice texture to the glaze. GREAT RECIPE!!!! 5+ stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Finally, a marinade for teriyaki chicken that has a KICK and actually really tastes like something from a restaurant. I used fresh garlic and fresh ginger and used no-sugar added marmalade. I also cut down a bit on the brown sugar. I'll admit that I didn't use *quite* the full amount of garlic-chili paste, but I was close! I doubled the recipe before I even started, based on several reviews. I knew I'd want some to cook down as a glaze after I cooked the chicken. I let three chicken breasts and several pieces of tofu marinate for about 3 hours and then grilled it all. The chicken was tender and delicious and I can't wait to eat leftovers with more of the glaze. We served this with baked crab rangoon and asparagus roasted with lemon/orange pepper. My family ate brown rice with theirs. Everything was wonderful and we'll definitely have this again and again. Thank you for a wonderful recipe...one of my favorites of all I've ever tried on All Recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Photo by CLS
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Oh YUM! This is so good! Don't miss making this easy marinade/glaze, it's also great using it as a stir-fry sauce over veggies. Just simmer it as preparing for the glaze, and pour some over your stir-fry. Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
We absolutely LOVED this marinade on chicken breasts. It's sweet & spicy, just perfect. I prepared exactly as written with a couple of small exceptions, used prepared minced garlic instead of powder, sriracha sauce, and white wine vinegar instead of the chinese cooking wine. What more can I say, a keeper and a definite do-over. You hit this one out of the ballpark, Rhonda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: May 6, 2005
As I was preparing this recipe I must admit I was not at all confident that it would taste good, but it was fabulous! My husband loves spicy foods, and this is now one of his favorites! I couldn't find chili paste with garlic, so I just added a little extra garlic powder. Also couldn't find chinese cooking wine, or any cooking wine for that matter (living in England!) so ended up using white wine vinegar, and it was just fine. Also used crushed pineapple as some other reviews suggested. Used half of the recipe as a marinade for chicken and heated the other half for a glaze. To make it less hot, cut the chili paste in half, or to cool it off a bit, reserve some crushed pineapple to top your dish with before serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSMATLIKRD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
We loved this recipe!!! I had to make some changes to what I had on hand. I marmalade or chili paste so I added 1 tble
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val-Flowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Very Good, I stir-fried this with some onion and bell pepper and had fresh steamed broccoli and rice with it. I marinated the chicken for a day and half and then I boiled down the extra marinade to put over the chicken, veggies and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Very tasty, I had the butcher cut a slab of ribs in three strips to make rib tips and used this marinade on them and cooked them in the crock pot then crisped them up in the oven. I did not use the cooking wine as I could not find it. But was tasty and I will be using this again makes a lot for an appy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ren Causley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Mango Relish

A quick and delicious mango condiment for grilled seafood and meats.

Orange Cumin Vinaigrette

A simple salad dressing seasoned with Dijon, orange zest, and cumin.

How to Make Orange Supremes

See how to separate oranges into beautiful, pith-free segments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States