Spicy Orange Teriyaki Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Very tasty, I had the butcher cut a slab of ribs in three strips to make rib tips and used this marinade on them and cooked them in the crock pot then crisped them up in the oven. I did not use the cooking wine as I could not find it. But was tasty and I will be using this again makes a lot for an appy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
DELISH!! I didn't have orange marmalade in the house so I used what I did have - plum jelly. With the 2 Tbls. of chili paste, it was too spicy. But I can't wait to try it with the marmalade!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
DELICIOUS! I did use crushed pineapple instead of chunks because I felt that they would distribute better, but other than that I kept the recipe as is. I used 1/2 of it to marinate chicken thighs overnight, and the other 1/2 I cooked down to use as a glaze while they were cooking. Very tasty! I will be using this recipe again, for sure! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Excellent. My children ask for chicken made with this at least once a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Finally, a marinade for teriyaki chicken that has a KICK and actually really tastes like something from a restaurant. I used fresh garlic and fresh ginger and used no-sugar added marmalade. I also cut down a bit on the brown sugar. I'll admit that I didn't use *quite* the full amount of garlic-chili paste, but I was close! I doubled the recipe before I even started, based on several reviews. I knew I'd want some to cook down as a glaze after I cooked the chicken. I let three chicken breasts and several pieces of tofu marinate for about 3 hours and then grilled it all. The chicken was tender and delicious and I can't wait to eat leftovers with more of the glaze. We served this with baked crab rangoon and asparagus roasted with lemon/orange pepper. My family ate brown rice with theirs. Everything was wonderful and we'll definitely have this again and again. Thank you for a wonderful recipe...one of my favorites of all I've ever tried on All Recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
We absolutely LOVED this marinade on chicken breasts. It's sweet & spicy, just perfect. I prepared exactly as written with a couple of small exceptions, used prepared minced garlic instead of powder, sriracha sauce, and white wine vinegar instead of the chinese cooking wine. What more can I say, a keeper and a definite do-over. You hit this one out of the ballpark, Rhonda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Wonderful flavor. Instead of using it for a marinade, I stir-fried some chicken and veggies and used this for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kgadison
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I marinated 2 pork tenderloins over night in this, My husband grilled them on our rotisserie attached to the outdoor grill (also glazing the pork tenderloin with an extra batch I made).. Served with this site's "Fried rice with cilantro" (the rice is amazing!). The glaze was pretty good, The flavors were pretty muddled together, nothing really popped out, I don't think I'll make it again for pork, maybe chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This is really good. I marinated 6 large chicken breasts in it for almost 48 hours. I made as is except I only had plain chili paste so I just added a couple cloves of garlic and used mirin for the Chinese wine. I wished I would of also made some extra for a glaze - next time I will. This has nice heat so keep that in mind if you aren't into spicy. I think this would be even better on a couple pork tenderloins...yum. I didn't get to eat the pineapple as the previous reviewer stated cuz mine was in with the raw chicken but I'm sure it is good and I would actually use slices with the glaze for ease on the bbq when I make this again. Thanks for the great marinade recipe Rhonda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This is by far the best marinade I have ever used on chicken. I was a bit hesitant at first, seemed like a LOT of sambal (chili garlic) but it wasn't overwhelming at all. The sweetness of the marmalade must balance the heat somehow. I made this twice. Once we marinaded just for a couple hours, and the next time we let it sit for about 12 hours. Trust me, the longer you let it sit, the better! One note: Do NOT substitute crushed pineapples. The absolute BEST part of the whole meal is eating the barbequed pineapple cubes. I am sure the flavor would be the same on the chicken, but you don't want to miss out on the grilled pineapple. Its to die for! The only modification I made to the recipe was using Mirin ( Japanese cooking wine) in place of the Chinese cooking wine because that is what I had on hand. Followed everything else to a "T" and it made the perfect amount of marinade for 4 chicken thighs. If you are cooking more than that, I would advise you double the recipe. Thank you so much, this is our new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Orange Cumin Vinaigrette

A simple salad dressing seasoned with Dijon, orange zest, and cumin.

Spicy Mango Relish

A quick and delicious mango condiment for grilled seafood and meats.

How to Make Orange Supremes

See how to separate oranges into beautiful, pith-free segments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States