Spicy Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
crazy good. I forgot to add the fish sauce, skipped jalapeno and used on hand fresh vegetables ( celery carrots onion broccoli ) sauce is fantastic. orange zest is mandatory. Don't skip. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This was very welcome for dinner here. It was a tad sweet for me - but I am the odd-ball, everyone else loved it. I followed the recipe and method with the exception of finely chopping the jalapeno pepper. I did this is a heavy duty wok - really high heat and didn't have to spoon off any extra liquid from the chicken. I didn't need half of the marinade either. I used a large spoon and spooned a couple of spoonfulls of the marinade around the edge of the very hot wok - so the liquid would immediately come to a boil and thicken quickly. Thanks for a great recipe. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
A lighter, healthier version of American Chinese orange chicken. We made this as written except for omitting the cilantro garnish. For us, it’s hard to beat orange chicken when well prepared by a fine Chinese restaurant as the flavor of the sauce is absorbed and clings to the battered fried chicken. This dish eliminates the batter and oil for cooking the chicken which reduces some fat and calories. We were very pleased with the outcome and thought this dish delivered a savory balance of sweet and spicy flavors. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
For a healthy version of this dish, the recipe is excellent. I did do a couple somethings slightly different. I used a splash of sesame oil to grease my pan and I marinated the chicken over-night instead of 1 hour. The end product was sweet, juicy, and flavorful! Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Followed all directions and the ingredients except: 1) used 1 habanero pepper instead of jalapeno, 2) did not use the green onions, 3)used green peas instead of snap peas 4) chicken breast instead of thighs, because the above were the ones we had on hand. I will use the habanero again for this recipe, I think it is a more flavorful heat than jalapeno. Will get green onions next time for more texture/flavor. It tastes like Chinese take-out orange chicken minus the calorific batter around the chicken and it is truly non-greasy!!! Loved it!!! But I am taking 1 star off because the recommended length of cooking the chicken made it dry and overcooked. But I will make it again when I have a hankering for Chinese food without the extra calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabyChops

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Kids thought it tasted to much like sweet and sour chicken with the peppers added. I tend to agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Escape

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Needed more of an orange kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dryden, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I made the recipe exactly as presented but used boneless chicken breast. I thought the amount of ginger overpowered the orange flavor, so I would cut the amount at least in half. I also think I would cut down slightly on the brown sugar. And I thought the sauce was too thin, so next time I would thicken it slightly with a little cornstarch dissolved in a little water. I think the recipe has potential to be a four with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
My husband and I loved this recipe but next time I'll make a few changes. First, I don't know how large a jalapeno Chef John used, but this was SPICY!!! I'm a little bit of a wuss, but my husband isn't, and even he found it hot enough, which he usually doesn't. Next time I'll use 1/2 the jalapenos, take my portion out of the pan, add the other 1/2 and give it to Mr. I can eat anything. The other thing is the cooking times are all a bit long. Use your judgment. Finally, sorry Chef John, but I don't like to add my snow pea pods that early. I added them with the jalapenos at the end. I like them quite crispy and just heated through. My version came out a bit darker than in the video, but it was delicious and a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Teah
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Great recipe! I didn't have all of the ingredients, so I improvised a little. Instead of pea's and cilantro, I used fresh spinach and basil leaves. I don't have that special zest knife, so I used a potato peeler (which sort of worked--definitely going to get me one of those special zest knives!). The potato peeler didn't work quite so well (made some funky orange chunks), so it wasn't as orangey overall as I would have liked, but that's really the only point of improvement! I also let the chicken marinade for 24 hours (we had a quick change of dinner plans), but that was not an issue at all. Absolutely delish! My husband was shocked (yes, he really was because I'm one of those who used to burn toast) at how good it was and said it was "professional"! WOW! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teah

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States