Spicy Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This recipe works. It's not the best flavor ever, though it has a good head start. I had to add quite a few more flavors to the mix to enjoy (sesame oil, lime, more ginger & garlic etc). I don't really enjoy take out orange chicken, I prefer authentic Asian....maybe this is why I didn't enjoy it? Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Maybe my expectations were too high based on all the reviews, and the fact that I usually like Chef John's recipes, but I did not like this chicken! I did follow the recipe exactly. Don't get me wrong, the stir fry tasted alright, but it was nothing like any Chinese take out. I will not try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I did not use the jalepeno (felt weird in an asian dish), used chicken breast instead of thighs, and added very thinly sliced broccoli instead of the peppers and peas. I also shortened the cooking time on the chicken and added a bit more of the marinade when I added the broccoli. It is really good. Really, really good. I think the only thing I'm craving is more sauce, so next time I'm going to boil the rest of the marinade to add on top. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aalen, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Loved it! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I have made this twice now and it is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This was good. We found it similar to Chef John's Caramel Chicken, which we love. Really enjoyed the crunch of the veggies in this recipe and will add more next time. Good way to use up sugar snap peas that are kind of boring on a good day. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I'm a pretty good cook and check out this site for new ideas - this had such rave reviews I thought "why not". I followed the recipe perfectly and after 2 hours of marinating the chicken had no flavor and even worse, with the cooking times the chicken ended up rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I really like this but my company thought it was so so. Hence the 4 stars instead of 5. The flavors were good and the fat low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
This is soooo de-lish!! I've made it several times, as is, except left out cilantro which I love but not in this dish. Shared the recipe with my daughter & sister. They loved it too after they made it. My sis made it for her grown family at Easter & it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Healthier version of a Chinese favorite. Both my husband and I loved it. My daughter wasn't so crazy about it because she insisted that she didn't like the vegetables. (News to us.) A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States