Spicy Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Healthier version of a Chinese favorite. Both my husband and I loved it. My daughter wasn't so crazy about it because she insisted that she didn't like the vegetables. (News to us.) A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
We really enjoyed the spicy orange flavor this dish promised. I did leave out the ginger and cilantro (just personal perference) and to cut calories I left the meat whole and served the veggies on the side without the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
This was amazing!! We loved it. I added about 2 Tablespoons of sweet ginger garlic out of Costco it is made by Simply Asia and I would also add cashews next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Excellent. Made as, served with coconut rice. Cooked w a timer at each step. Used all the marinade. The red pepper flakes made it spicy so if you don't like spice use 1/2 or none. But we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I made the recipe exactly as presented but used boneless chicken breast. I thought the amount of ginger overpowered the orange flavor, so I would cut the amount at least in half. I also think I would cut down slightly on the brown sugar. And I thought the sauce was too thin, so next time I would thicken it slightly with a little cornstarch dissolved in a little water. I think the recipe has potential to be a four with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Just finished licking my plate! Delisous recipe and will make again. Only change was my grocery store did not have rice vinegar so I used a splash of white vinegar. Next time I think I will cut back on jalapenos a bit. Really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This was not that great. Followed exactly as stated. Seemed a bit bland. Not spicy at all. Was a bit disapointed after spending all the money on ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenduffy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
A lighter, healthier version of American Chinese orange chicken. We made this as written except for omitting the cilantro garnish. For us, it’s hard to beat orange chicken when well prepared by a fine Chinese restaurant as the flavor of the sauce is absorbed and clings to the battered fried chicken. This dish eliminates the batter and oil for cooking the chicken which reduces some fat and calories. We were very pleased with the outcome and thought this dish delivered a savory balance of sweet and spicy flavors. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Followed all directions and the ingredients except: 1) used 1 habanero pepper instead of jalapeno, 2) did not use the green onions, 3)used green peas instead of snap peas 4) chicken breast instead of thighs, because the above were the ones we had on hand. I will use the habanero again for this recipe, I think it is a more flavorful heat than jalapeno. Will get green onions next time for more texture/flavor. It tastes like Chinese take-out orange chicken minus the calorific batter around the chicken and it is truly non-greasy!!! Loved it!!! But I am taking 1 star off because the recommended length of cooking the chicken made it dry and overcooked. But I will make it again when I have a hankering for Chinese food without the extra calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabyChops

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
we loved it and didn't find it to be super spicy like some reviewers claimed it to be.. bf even said it could have used more jalapenos.. we doubled the orange juice, garlic, jalapeno, and the bell pepper (we used green), omitted the sugar snap peas and fish sauce, used dried ginger instead of fresh, halved the brown sugar, added mushrooms, quadrupled the soy sauce.. we were trying to make it more brothy.. served this over quinoa and it was super delicious.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States