Spicy Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
super easy and really tasty! makes 3-4 portions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I omitted the jalapeno & cilantro.... Excellent!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I experimented with the chicken part of this recipe today to use in a new dish that I made up! I marinated four cubed chicken breasts in the mixture exactly as listed, but I did not flour it or do the caramelizing process like the video suggested. I then cooked the chicken and added a green onion bunch, a red pepper, 20 fresh mushrooms, a can of pineapple chunks, two garlic cloves and a package of yakisoba noodles. YUM! My husband added some sweet chili sauce to his portion, along with some sesame seeds. We are thinking about making this again soon, but we'd leave out the noodles and instead add a few cashews and serve it over rice. The chicken was very flavorful and I anticipate using this recipe quite often from now on. Also, it provided me with a chance to purchase and cook with rice vinegar and fish sauce for the first time in my life! Thanks for broadening my horizons, Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Depoe Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Tasty, thank you for posting, will make again :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Lord, I was so scared to try this recipe but I must say it was wonderful and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Mills

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Very good, needed additional soy sauce when done. Since I didn't follow it exactly I gave it five stars, but it was only a four star as I prepared it. I didn't have orange zest, and I used shredded carrots instead of sweet pea pods. Also my wife is adverse to spicy meals so I left out the jalapenos. I ate it with brown rice and ended up enjoying it very well. Couldn't get the chicken to caramelize though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I wanted to eat it all!! Only thing I did differently was add some regular onion because I was low on green onion. I guess also I added cornstarch towards the end to thicken but that shouldn't affect taste. Next time I would consider adding all the marinade instead of half. Very yummy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TBonnell
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This recipe is great!! I used freshly squeezed oranges and I added green beans. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This was REALLY SPICY!!! I didn't seed the jalapeno, which I will do next time, and perhaps only use half or 3/4. Also the cooking time was way off. On med-hi it took me about 3-4 min to caramelize the chicken. I've found that with many of Chef John's recipes I have to turn the temp down, so maybe it's just his stove it's as hot as mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Swift

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bex Ciantelli
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Great recipe, easy to experiment with. After cutting the amount of orange juice (freshly squeezed) I let the chicken sit in the marinade and then I coated it in flour and fried it. Immediately after frying I put about a quarter of a white onion (nixing the green onion and Jalepanoes), grated the garlic, and then added all of that with the fried chicken in another skillet. Then I poured the whole rest of the marinade in about a minute later, added the red pepper and the peas to that and continuously mixed that all together for about 4.5 mins. End result served over white rice was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bex Ciantelli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States