Spicy Orange Chicken Wing Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Easy and interesting sauce. I think much depends on the marmalade and hoisin sauce you use and whether you like marmalade in the first place...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Even though I tweaked it, I still gave it 5 stars. I didn't have the chili pepper sauce so I used 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes. Also added 1 minced clove of garlic as he suggested in his video. I only boiled the sauce for two minutes so I could reheat it later before serving and it not be too thick. There was enough sauce to put over Jasmine rice and some to freeze for the next serving of wings. I always do my wings on the grill, instead of the oven. I find it's quicker, less fatty, and more tasty. And on a day like today, with a heat index of 108, it keeps the kitchen much cooler too. This is a must try recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heide

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Very good flavor with my oven baked wings! Only change I made was to add a couple cloves of mashed/minced garlic. Be sure to only boil or simmer sauce until SLIGHTLY thickened or you will have very tasty glue! I boiled it until it was near the consistency I thought it should be, then removed it from heat for about 10 minutes. It got thicker than honey after I took it off the heat. Can't wait to make them again and get it right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NM Elk Hunter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Tips: John's wing recipes assume you're serving a crowd. In my case, it's just me. So I've found at Costco they have 'certified' (whatever that means) organic chicken wings in packets of 3, with 12-13 wings in each. So I can try out his various versions. Also: I keep old washcloths, and when eating wings or fresh crab or ribs, I wet one in hot water and use it while eating to manage the sticky experience. Though I agree with another reviewer that his Ginger-Garlic Wings are better, these were darn good, too. I seasoned the oiled wings (before oven baking) with lots of garlic powder & powdered ginger, not usually my choice. But it added depth to the flavor. One could add fresh garlic & ginger, but then that would defeat the whole point. Next time I'll try adding some orange zest to jack up the orangey flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Terrific...only I used 1/2 tbls. hot chili oil...will try more next time. Also used chicken thighs, grandson says it's a "Keeper"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Mackay-Lane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This was a very good recipe but I liked Chef John's Spicy Asian Chicken Wings recipe more so I gave this recipe only 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Very good recipe. Almost a little too sweet and needed a bit more tang or orange sour flavor. I made three recipes from this site, and while we liked all, this was the least favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
We just did not care for orange flavored chicken wings. Sauce seemed more appropriate for a beef stir-fry maybe, with lots of other chinese vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harkers Island, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Good especially on drumsticks or thighs. If you want spicier substitute normal vinegar and add 2 tablespoons of Szechuan, sweet chili sauce or Louisiana style hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
What is a good substitute for the asian chile sauce? It's the only ingredient in this recipe that I can't seem to find anywhere...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

See how to make a spicy, sweet-and-sour sauce for Korean fried chicken.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States