Spicy Orange Chicken Wing Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Great recipe...I added 4 cloves of fresh garlic. I think what really makes this over the top is...what you do to the chicken before the sauce. Seasoning the chicken before they go in the oven is key. I use, cayenne pepper, tex mex seasoning, montreal steak spice, salt & pepper and chinese five spice seasoning. Make sure you add these spices to both sides of the wings, and oven bake these babies. Make sure the sauce you've made and chicken wings are both hot when you mix together. No regrets here, and no wings are either. Happy New Year!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
yummers!! i didn't have marmalade, but used a small can of mandarin orange slices. i put the sauce on boneless skinless chicken thighs and baked them. i boiled some vermicelli with leeks, snap peas....just a dash of fish sauce...and put the chicken on top....sooooo goood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I was asked to make chicken wings for 2012 Superbowl party. I'd never made them before, nor paid attention to them at other parties. I found this video by Chef John & made them off the video directions, replaying it several times to get the gist. (2nd time see recipe) In the sauce, I also added his suggested 2 finely chopped/ mashed garlic cloves. That’s the easy part! (15 minutes? Make sauce after wings are baked.) I bought two, 4-lb bags of Wayne Farms frozen Wingettes (no tips). [8 lbs made 40 pieces] Thawed. Washed, cut off extra skin, seasoned & floured (30 min). Baked to very crisp in the oven, a 1 & a1/2 hr process @ 450 degrees, turning often. One thing I did was to place them small bunches, from oven to stove-top simmering sauce for 5 minutes. These few minutes soaked sauce into wings and I think was key to their infused, succulence. Arranged into two 7X12 Pyrex dishes so they could be warmed separately. Provided a water bowl with cut lemon for 'finger-dipping..." A chef was present at party who caters & owns a popular deli. She took a photo & emailed her boyfriend that he was missing “the best wings she'd ever had!” [Helpful as I had no comparison] Now when making second time, I see that I didn't have to 'glub-guess’ the recipe from video! Hope they turn out as good as my 1st guesstimate. Wings were spicy & sweet-- but not too sweet. Absolutely delicious. Now, I will notice wings at parties & doubt any will compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Yum! No leftovers with these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This was a good alternative to chicken wings. Wasn't as spicy as I thought they would be. Probably needed to add more chile pepper sauce. I will definitely try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Great recipe. It delivers that restrurant flavor at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I made this to serve on grilled chicken. Once the chicken was almost finished, I glazed it with the wing sauce. Tastes great on a dinner salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This is a winner, Thank you Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
it's so....good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States