Spicy Orange Chicken Wing Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Yummy!My wife doesn't usually like finger foods, but she loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chas
Living In: Spencer, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This was very good, BUT I would highly recommend you taste it before adding the soy sauce. (By the way, the video and the recipe on his website calls for a TEASPOON of soy sauce, not a tablespoon.) If your Asian chili pepper sauce has a lot of salt like mine does, you won't want to add the soy sauce. Chef John says in the video to use Sambal chili paste/sauce or any red chili sauce. I couldn't find Sambal, so I used (red) chili garlic sauce, which has quite a bit of salt. Because of that, I left the soy sauce out, and it was good. He also recommends you add a couple of cloves of smashed or finely minced garlic, which was already in my chili garlic sauce. I think next time I'll try halving the hoisin sauce, to let the orange flavor take center stage a little more. It was very good, though, and I used it on baked chicken drumsticks. It would be even better on wings, and it would be great on breaded chicken bites and steamed broccoli over rice (for restaurant-style orange chicken).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLANAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
1 Word "FABULOUS"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toosxz4me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Great recipe. I think I will add a bit more chile sauce in the future to add a bit more of a bite. But, I followed Chef John's description to oven fry from his Garlic Ginger wing recipe, which gave a good crispy exterior. I just need to watch the amount of flour I cover the wings with in the future, you could tell there had been flour on the wings when done (even though it didn't look it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Fantastic! Followed the recipe exactly. Aside from having too much sauce leftover (we used 2 pounds of wings), we loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kabee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
great recipe. I used Dynasty Hot Chili Oil which has plenty of garlic flavor added. I cooked sauce a little longer & added juice from 1 mandarin orange & 1T of potato starch which thickened it nicely. Perfect "Panda Sauce"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This was SO good!! We had leftovers and heated them up in the oven and it was even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Good stuff! Definitely using this recipe again in the future ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I followed oven frying directions from Chef John's blog & followed the recipe with the addition of 2 garlic cloves. It is a lot more "orangey" than the lovable bear restaurant version, but really delicious. For less orange flavor I might go half marmalade, half Thai Sweet Chili sauce, but as is, my whole family loved these wings. They stayed crispy even after sitting in sauce for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I cooked the chicken wings my usual way- barely seasoned and naked on a lipped cookie sheet in the oven at 425 for about an hour. Then I made this sauce and tossed the wings. I made it basically EXACTLY as stated except used half the amount of sriracha- for the kids sake (but we had a bottle at the table for us). This is a really great recipe! I looked at it in the pan and thought it did not look like much so I doubled it. MISTAKE. A little goes a long way of this stuff! Oh well, I will just use the leftovers for a slow cooker meal I think. (shredded orange chicken breast, anyone??) Seriously finger lickin' deliciousness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

See how to make a spicy, sweet-and-sour sauce for Korean fried chicken.

Chef John's Fresh Raspberry Sauce

Chef John's recipe for fresh raspberry sauce will turn any day into Valentine's D

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States