Spicy Orange Bison Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2015
In terms of flavor this is a 5 star recipe! It is delicately spiced with just the right kick from the Sriracha and the orange flavor from the marmalade is present but not overpowering. However, the directions and ingredient list need tweaking. As another reviewer noted, you must drain the meat before adding the sauce ingredients. Others are correct in criticizing the amount of water. Based on their reviews I used 2 cups and that was plenty. I simmered the balls for 45 minutes and then took them off and poured it all into a bowl and put it in the fridge. I took it out to reheat before the potluck. The sauce was thick - I added a couple of Tablespoons to aid in the reheating and cooked for the remaining 15 minutes. The sauce was the perfect thickness at that point. Great recipe with those minor adjustments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Even though there's an error in the list of ingredients, this definitely deserves all 5 stars. I believe the video shows him adding TWO cups of water, but the recipe calls for THREE cups. I fixed it by removing the cooked meat from the pot and then cranking up the heat to reduce the liquid. Once reduced, I returned the meat to continue cooking a tad. My family loves ALL of Chef John's recipes - perhaps he can have someone proof read for him?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Kealey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
3 cups of water is WAY too much. Good flavor. I may make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I enjoyed these very much, didn't have the asian chili pepper sauce so I just substituted in some mixed 2T ketchup and 1t chili powder. Also I see some people have said that the liquid didn't reduce down for them and I have to assume these people put a lid on during the 1 hour reducing time- he never says to do that (so don't). The meatballs had a great orange flavor to them though I didn't get that much from the sauce, then again these are supposed to be an appetizer or laid out as finger food so one really wouldn't get any sauce. Next time when I make it as an entree I'll use beef broth, OJ, or a mix to try and get the sauce a better orange flavor to go with some rice. They also reheated very well the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Fernandez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Lots of flavor. I only simmered for 35 minutes because of time constraints, so I only added 1 cup of water and some cornstarch at the end. It thickened perfectly. I'll probably reduce the marmalade next time as some bites were overpowering. It did have a nice kick also. Served with jasmine rice and veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
These meatballs rocked...However I'm giving a 4 star and not a 5. I followed the recipe to a T but calculated the recipe for 2 pounds of ground bison. Which was fine with the meatball part, it was the sauce. I tend to be one that tries to follow recipes to a T if all possible. The sauce was tasty, but you need to note that: 1. drain your pan of any residual fat and oil before adding the ingredients for the sauce. It makes for a very greasy sauce and it prevents your sauce from thickening. 2. I had so much liquid, it looked like soup, hubby agreed too but because there was so much liquid, we didn't find the recipe that spicy. Will make again, but if I'm doubling the meat, I won't be doubling the liquids, 6 cups of water didn't seem like a lot at first until it took me 2 hours to get the liquids to reduce and thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Three cups of water was way to much!!! Mine were still swimming after an hour of a hard simmer. And I watched the video and there was no way he added that much water. The flavor was really good, but to rate the recipe as written I would only give it 3 stars. Next time I would use no more than 1 cup of water and maybe a little less chile sauce, but that's just cause I'm a baby when it comes to spicy food. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flower80

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
We made these for the Super Bowl, made some wild mixed rice with it and had Nan also. Fantastic will have this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I will definitely make these meatballs again; they weren't on my "Top-Ten Most Tasty Meatballs Ever" list, but they disappeared into the bellies of my husband and son, so that's certainly saying something! I made them with beef instead of bison and would add only about a cup of water, rather than three cups; I had to add some cornstarch in the end to get it to thicken. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This was amazing. I too used sriracha and added a single-serving size of mandarin oranges because they needed to go, and a smidge of ground ginger because I take every opportunity to use it. I used the ground pork I had on hand and the meatballs cooked up with amazingly little fat left. The simmer time was magic, the sauce thickened up just like you said it would. It was delicious as well as pretty to look at, and so easy. I would never have tried something like this without you. It's now a regular recipe for both home and potlucks. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bartlett, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Marion, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States