Spicy Orange Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
No need for the orange peel. The orange marmalade gave it a strong orange flavor, I'm afraid the orange peel might over do it. The recipe was really easy to make and tasted very good served over rice. I cut up green, yellow, and red bell pepper to go with the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Love it, love it, love it!!! I had to sub the marmalade for mandarin oranges and it turned out great. A fast and easy meal that I can make anytime and my husband loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gayle Booker-Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This was DELICIOUS! Definitely a keeper recipe for me. I added about 6 cups of stir-fried vegetables and there was still plenty of sauce/glaze for them. I do prefer my sauces thicker, so I will add extra cornstarch in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whole_foods_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Excellent recipe! I 1/2 the recipe but am sorry I did. I loved the result and wish I had more leftovers. The only varations I did was to use Apricot Jelly instead of the Marmalade since that was the closest thing I had in the house. When I finished with the orange peel it seemed like so much so I only ended up using half of what the recipe called for. Oh, and I didn't have Sherry so replaced it with juice from the orange. Of note, when I initally ate it I didn't notice much heat from the red pepper flakes and was thinking I should have added more... BUT... the heat was more prominent with the leftovers. I actually preferred it reheated. I definately want to try this with chicken and think it would be equally as great on meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Way too strong of orange rind flavour and very runny, too much fluid. My family suggests not to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Excellent flavors! I followed the recipe exactly. A little too much sauce for our family. But, I had some leftover grilled steak that I sliced, and then tossed with the leftover sauce. It was really good! Next time I will grill the steak, slice it, then finish in a very small amount of oil and then add in the sauce. This will cut down on the fat. I also will cut the broth and cornstarch in half. I'm going to try it with chicken too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
After reading reviews, I chose not to use orange peel, but did use orange zest in it's place. I also did not have orange marmalade and used fresh orange juice in it's place. I doubled the sauce and added broccoli to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This is super fantastic. I add mushrooms, broccoli and assorted vegetables that I have in the fridge. The sauce is so good...definitely a company dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
We don't cook red meat very often and decided to give this recipe a try to expand our meat horizons - We thought this was delicious! I followed some of the other reviews used orange juice instead of sherry and sesame oil instead of vegetable oil and 86-ed the orange peel. After cooking the beef I sauteed onions, carrots and mushrooms, then added the garlic, ginger and beef back in. I highly recommend adding the extra veggies and next time I will try the snow peas or broccoli as some other folks recommended. I added a heaping 1/2 teaspoon of the red pepper flakes and it was plenty spicy. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I'm new to cooking and decided to give this a try, since it's pretty simple. This is a delicious recipe. I omitted the garlic (I'm allergic) and it was still soooo tasty! It's rare to find a recipe for Asian-style food that still has a lot of flavor without the garlic. The first time I made it I didn't have cornstarch and tried using flour instead. That didn't work...I invested in some corn starch and it made the sauce thick and perfect! This also tastes great with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States