Spicy Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Love these, they are easy to make and sastify that craving every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Maclean-Mosher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summerside, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I omitted oregano & basil, but added garlic powder. I also saw a recommendation to drain onion rings on a cookie cooling rack with paper towels beneath. Very helpful. The onion rings turned out great. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
These were fantastic! Great texture and flavor, but we sure didn't consider them spicy at all. DH thought there was too much oregano, but I used mexican instead of italian so that may have been why. I only did two onions and there wasn't enough batter for all of it. So if you are doing 4 you should double the stuff. I used egg beaters in the carton for this. My DH had me do some shrimp in this too and said it was a winner. This is a definite keeper, thanks Luna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Per other reviews suggestions I omitted the oregano and basil and added garlic and these onion rings were awesome! Now I just need to find a good recipe or a dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
I tried this because I had a craving for onion rings but didn't have any beer or soda water to make beer battered traditional style onion rings. Anyway, these are pretty good! Mind you I didn't follow this to a tee. I used cracker crumbs instead of bread crumbs, and omitted the pepper flakes, oregano and basil. They turned out light and crispy, with a little zing from the cayenne. Thanks Luna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
this was the best onion ring recipe I have found...loved how the bread crumbs stuck to the egg mixture. My family thoroughly enjoyed it...even the spices! My husband said they didn't even taste like homemade! This will definitely be a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
These were awesome! My family likes spicy foods so these were a big hit, my big kids ate them as fast as I could fry them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
These were really good! Such a nice change of flavor from the normal beer battered or plain breaded onion rings. I used one large onion to one egg. Omitted the basil and oregano and didn't have any pepper flakes to use. This was enough for the two of us. Will keep the leftover coating for future batches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
So good! We don't do fried food at home very often, and these were my first try at onion rings...but they turned out great! I never buy egg substitute, so I used 3 eggs with a splash of milk and a few shakes of tabasco instead (and left out the red pepper flakes). I only had 3 onions but there was lots of extra flour/egg/breading to do more. My husband suggested cuting the onions thiner, but I enjoyed them as is. I dried them on a wire cooling rack over a cookie sheet lined with paper towel as suggested, and it worked well - kept them crispy and was easy clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States