Spicy Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
We just did not care for the basil and oregano. I will try this again leaving those out and adding garlic powder. I always drain fried foods on a cookie cooling rack with a paper towel underneath so the food stays crisp on all sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
These were fantastic! Great texture and flavor, but we sure didn't consider them spicy at all. DH thought there was too much oregano, but I used mexican instead of italian so that may have been why. I only did two onions and there wasn't enough batter for all of it. So if you are doing 4 you should double the stuff. I used egg beaters in the carton for this. My DH had me do some shrimp in this too and said it was a winner. This is a definite keeper, thanks Luna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
I tried this because I had a craving for onion rings but didn't have any beer or soda water to make beer battered traditional style onion rings. Anyway, these are pretty good! Mind you I didn't follow this to a tee. I used cracker crumbs instead of bread crumbs, and omitted the pepper flakes, oregano and basil. They turned out light and crispy, with a little zing from the cayenne. Thanks Luna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
The spices called for in this recipe are a bit odd for my palette; instead, I substituted the oregano and basil for paprika and garlic salt--these spices work really well with the cayenne and red pepper flakes. Also--for an easier and quicker clean up, forget the separate bowls, and put the sliced onions in a gallon-size ziplock bag. Add the flour mixture and shake to coat all onions. Then, simply pour in the liquid mixture and shake again. Finally, add in the bread crumb mixture and shake. Make sure to separate the onions before you fry them. This is much easier and clean up is a breeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sooner Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I omitted oregano & basil, but added garlic powder. I also saw a recommendation to drain onion rings on a cookie cooling rack with paper towels beneath. Very helpful. The onion rings turned out great. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Very good, the batter stuck very well to the onions. Wasn't very spicy, we added some more cayenne pepper to "kick it up a notch.."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Love these, they are easy to make and sastify that craving every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Maclean-Mosher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summerside, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
So good! We don't do fried food at home very often, and these were my first try at onion rings...but they turned out great! I never buy egg substitute, so I used 3 eggs with a splash of milk and a few shakes of tabasco instead (and left out the red pepper flakes). I only had 3 onions but there was lots of extra flour/egg/breading to do more. My husband suggested cuting the onions thiner, but I enjoyed them as is. I dried them on a wire cooling rack over a cookie sheet lined with paper towel as suggested, and it worked well - kept them crispy and was easy clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Per other reviews suggestions I omitted the oregano and basil and added garlic and these onion rings were awesome! Now I just need to find a good recipe or a dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States