Spicy Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
I tried this because I had a craving for onion rings but didn't have any beer or soda water to make beer battered traditional style onion rings. Anyway, these are pretty good! Mind you I didn't follow this to a tee. I used cracker crumbs instead of bread crumbs, and omitted the pepper flakes, oregano and basil. They turned out light and crispy, with a little zing from the cayenne. Thanks Luna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
this was the best onion ring recipe I have found...loved how the bread crumbs stuck to the egg mixture. My family thoroughly enjoyed it...even the spices! My husband said they didn't even taste like homemade! This will definitely be a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
These were awesome! My family likes spicy foods so these were a big hit, my big kids ate them as fast as I could fry them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
These were really good! Such a nice change of flavor from the normal beer battered or plain breaded onion rings. I used one large onion to one egg. Omitted the basil and oregano and didn't have any pepper flakes to use. This was enough for the two of us. Will keep the leftover coating for future batches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
good stuff... got rave reviews from my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
We just did not care for the basil and oregano. I will try this again leaving those out and adding garlic powder. I always drain fried foods on a cookie cooling rack with a paper towel underneath so the food stays crisp on all sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Love these, they are easy to make and sastify that craving every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summerside, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
These were fantastic! Great texture and flavor, but we sure didn't consider them spicy at all. DH thought there was too much oregano, but I used mexican instead of italian so that may have been why. I only did two onions and there wasn't enough batter for all of it. So if you are doing 4 you should double the stuff. I used egg beaters in the carton for this. My DH had me do some shrimp in this too and said it was a winner. This is a definite keeper, thanks Luna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Very good, the batter stuck very well to the onions. Wasn't very spicy, we added some more cayenne pepper to "kick it up a notch.."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This recipe was ok..... it didnt really have a good flavor and was a little too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States