Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Not what I expected\
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Steinberg
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Tina Nielsen Yeagley
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Great recipe, easy and delicious! I only had medium eggs in my fridge (you are supposed to use large for baking) so I added 3 eggs because the dough seemed too dry with just two, and I didn't want to increase the oil. I also exchanged the raisins with chocolate chips because my kids won't eat cookies with raisins in them. I made them bigger, about walnut size, and they turned out fabulously! The texture was just like a cookie, not cake-like for me. Definitely recommend this recipe when you are short on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Nielsen Yeagley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Awesome - They stay soft and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarans93
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Great recipe! Love having a variety of cake-mix cookie recipes on hand for very quick cookies! I made 30 medium-large sized cookies and did the calorie count...107/cookie, nice! If I actually made 48 they would have been way under 100 (67 calories/cookie), which is a nice advertiser! I did end up adding a tablespoon of water, which helped to mix the wet and dry ingredients together. Also, I baked them for around 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarans93

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
If you're in a hurry to make some cookies, these are so easy and fast to make. Good flavor, and made for a crispy outside and chewy inside. Use a tupperware container to help keep them from getting too hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deedee
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Followed this recipe as written and the results were exactly what I was looking for. The spices were PERFECT! THe cookie was neither too soft nor too crunchy. It was slightly crisp on the outside and soft on the inside. I was worried they might get hard overnight but much to my surprise when I pulled one out of the cookie jar the next day it was actually softer on the inside and tasted better. I did swap out the raisins for Heath Toffee Chocolate pieces...because my kiddos wont eat raisins. INCREDIBLE! I think this would be amazing with butterscotch chips as well. Love, love, love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I am partial to spice, oatmeal, and raisins so this cookie is the bomb! The batter is really thick when you mix it but drops from a cookie scooper very well. It won't spread out but I kinda like that. They are cake-like but that's the yummy part. These are super simple to make and I'll be making them again. Oh, and if you are on WW each cookie has a points plus value of 4. Yum. Totally worth it to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
My husband really enjoyed the extra spice to these! Great find and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
My sister gave me this recipe but I used pure butter in place of oil. I am also adding 2 cups oats, 1 cup raisans, and 1 cup walnuts. I use a soup spoon for measure and will press them with a glass. I also will bake them 12-15 minutes. I might use half applesauce and half butter for moister cookie. I don't like them brown, just done and soft in the center. I am making them for son-in-law as they are his favorite kind. Will comment on results after I bake them. I have made them often and like them very much. 5 stars for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skylla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States