Spicy Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2002
I made these and they turned out great. Best oatmeal cookies I've ever had!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
These cookies are so easy to make and absolutely wonderful! The spices and banana mix well to create a great flavor. I made one batch to take to work. They were snatched up so fast I made another batch that night to take in the next day. A great way to use ripe bananas that you have on hand. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
An extremely good oatmeal cookie. Moist. Batter goes a long way. I found I needed to lower the temperature to 375
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
Great recipe!!! I tweeked the original a little bit just for fun and they came out great! I used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose and instead of shortening, I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/4 cup of Smart Start butter spread. I thought the batter was rather dry so I added a second banana and then 2/3 of a cup of dried cranberry's. I calculated the total calories which came out to 3,330 for the entire batch and 121.75g fat. I yielded 50 cookies so that came to 67 cal's per cookie and 2.4g fat! Thanks for a great cookie :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
We all loved these cookies. My kids have always turned their noses up at oatmeal cookies. I didn't expect them to eat these (I made them for holiday guests). The kids gobbled them all up. I think the banana makes a big difference. Thanks for the recipe. This is my permanent Oatmeal cookie recipe....for now anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amman, Amman, Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
These cookies were pretty good. Very moist. I added an extra banana to it. It came out very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
These turned out very good when I first made them. My husband even complimented them, which is saying a lot! I used 2 bananas since I had four that were getting too ripe, and the batter seemed a little dry with only one. I also added raisins and pecans to half of the batch and prefered those to the plain ones. We didn't finish eating these, though - after the first day, they were too soft and cakelike for our taste. I probably won't repeat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2003
WOW! I'm eating one right now fresh out of the oven. GREAT! They have a cake like consistency, and are wonderful. I'll definately be making this one again and again. Thanks Sue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIK_IT2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
These cookies are amazing! Wow. Brought them to my office, and they were gone in an instant. Definitely the best oatmeal cookies I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
Great recipe. Very moist and tasty. Great the next day as well. This is one you can feel good about giving to your kids. I added one tsp. vanilla and raisins. Would also be great with nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States