Spicy Mexican Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Very good! I did add a pound of shrimp to the chorizo mixture when it was just about cooked. I will save this recipe and make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I gave the basic recipe 4 stars, as I always change things as I try them, based on our preferences. Anyhow, I cooked the chorizo with the garlic and onions, then when almost done, I added a can of black beans, drained but not rinsed. After they got a little tender, I then added our own homemade salsa, very spicy and that became my sausage mixture for layering. I also used Mexican "melting cheese" instead of pepper jack and mixed in a little cheddar. Lastly, I fried my tortillas and layed 2 of them out side by side in the bottom of a glass casserole dish, no problem cutting them as others had mentioned. From there I followed the directions for cooking, ended up with three layers, not really "torte" like, but turned out very good, topped it off with a little sour cream, we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Hofstatter Noftz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
First time using Chorizo. We enjoyed it. I would however, enjoy another texture with it. Something with a crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This was super easy to make. THe only change I made was using 1 tortilla on the bottom and between layers. If you are like my family this recipe serves 3-4 people. Next time I make this I think I will use jalapenos instead of chiles to add a little more kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMUA212

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
I made this for a Mexican themed Superbowl potluck. I doubled the recipe and used 2 pie plates. I also followed some of the other users reviews and used only 1 tortilla instead of 2 for each layer. It looked beautiful. I got many compliments at the potluck. Everyone enjoyed this dish and I will definitely be making it again. Oh and for those people who are nervous about the spiciness, it's not too spicy either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This is good and easy to make. I only used one tortilla for the layers and it was fine. My husband thought it would be better with less refried beans but then he's not a big fan of them anyway. I thought it was a perfect amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I've been looking for this recipe for weeks (I had this a long time ago). Anyway I made this for Cinco de Mayo and it is so good! I used an 8" cake pan with 2" high sides and it fit in there nicely. My store didn't have chorizo, so I used regular sausage and added some crushed red pepper flakes, black pepper and hot sauce to spice it up and it turned out just how I remember-DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This was fabulous! I only layered one tortilla at a time since they were lo carb and very filling, used two different cheeses, cheddar and hot pepper, and loads of roasted red peppers. This is a new favorite! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
This was GREAT! I used two tortillas on the bottom and only one between the other layers. I probably will only use one on the bottom next time. I also omitted the red pepper, and it turned out just fine. It has a nice "kick" to it, and even my husband liked it (he's very meat and potatos). Next time I might try some Rotel tomatos with chilis mixed in with the chorizo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
I used ground turkey instead of chorizo ...it tasted wonderful but was difficult to cut, next time I will only use 1 tortilla in between each layer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRIS4FOOD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States