Spicy Mexican Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Absolutely wonderful, but I used fresh jalapenos, and topped it with shredded lettuce, yogurt and sliced tomatoes. Everyone had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Excellant!!! I added corn as others suggested. I used 2 tortilla shells on the bottom one in the middle and 2 on top. This is a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
A Home Run! Great meal! Easy to prep. I only used 1 tortilla between layers, expect for the bottom - used 2 there. Chorizo is difficult to find here in redneck country, so I used hot Italian sausage - outstanding! And the cheese? Sorry I probably used a little more at each step it was called for. I used a "fiesta blend" usually found at the market instead of pepper jack, since I had it on hand. I also used one of the other reviewer's suggestion and used a can of Ro-tel tomatoes and chiles (drained), but I still used the called for 4 oz can of chiles, drained. It's a "Keeper" and will go into my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I really enjoyed the flavor of this dish. It was nice and spicy. However, the texture was very mushy and not really appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Just made it and my husband is a very picky eater and we both thought this was one of the best meals ever! We added olives and sour cream but it was so perfect! Love, love love this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This was easy to make and tasted great. Used refried black beans as a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Awesome! I made this for dinner last night and my husband and I both loved it! He quickly packed up the leftovers and declared them to be "his lunch for tomorrow". I always try to make a recipe exactly as it's written the first time I make it, but I had to make changes to this one based on what I had on hand and what the other reviewers advised. So here's what I did: Instead of chorizo, I used leftover shredded chicken because that's what I had Used whole wheat tortillas because we always use whole grains Used low fat Mexican blend shredded cheese skipped the red peppers Added a can of corn because we love all "corny" things :) So I used a glass pie pan, sprayed it with PAM. Laid down one tortilla rather than two based on prior reviews, and I'd say they were spot on with that recommendation. Then I put in 1/2 of my chicken mixture, to which I added 1/2 can of enchilada sauce because is just looked like it needed it! Sprinkled with cheese and then laid down the next tortilla and spread that with 1/2 can of beans and sprinkled with cheese. Next tortilla and remainder of chicken and a sprinkle of cheese. Last tortilla and remainder of beans topped with the other 1/2 can of enchilada sauce and then the remaining cheese. I then took a sharp knife and poked holes down through the layers for the enchilada sauce to seep into. Baked at 350 for about 35-40 minutes. It was FABULOUS. We will make this one regularly for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This recipe was really tasty. I left out the green chile peppers since my 4 and 2 year old were eating this and it still tasted really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
My family is not much on trying new recipes, but I thought this might be something they would enjoy. AND THEY LOVED IT!!! Thank you so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aheath31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Super yummy AND easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corineva
Home Town: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States