Spicy Mexican Style Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I thought this was fabulous! I don't keep pinto beans on hand so I used a can of chili beans and added a pound of cooked chicken breast. We ate it plain and ate in taco shells also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
After reading the reviews, I added a few things and this is a family favorite. We are meat eaters, so I add ground beef and increase the seasoning by at least 1 teaspoon. Pinto beans are hard to find in Belgium where I live, so I use kidney beans. I also make a layered casserole with two tortillas on the bottom, one in the middle and one on top with a layer of cheese to finish. We serve with fresh cilantro and sour cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Really enjoyed this. I followed the recipe except for doubling the rice and using a full can of pinto beans (14 oz, I think) to stretch things out and add more "body" to the casserole. With those additions, I had to add a bit more salt to taste. Delicious and very easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Easy to make, healthy and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Another terrific way to use up that summer zucchini. The only change I made was to use black beans instead of pinto beans. This is a great main dish, or a very hearty side dish. Everyone really enjoyed this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Excellent dish. I realized when I went to add the rice that I only had uncooked rice. So I added almost two cups of vegetable stock and about a half cup of sour cream to the dish for the rice to cook in. It needed a little longer in the oven, but turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestixy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islamorada, Florida, USA
Living In: Erlangen, Bayern, Germany
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
My family devoured this in no time! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This was great - I play around with the ingredients depending what I have on hand and have added chicken, black beans, etc. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Cheap, easy, and delicious! I added fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Schiewer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Very tasty hearty casserole! I just added extra fresh garlic. Very yummy, we enjoyed it very much. The cheese make it creamy and round up everything. Thank you very much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSECLAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Munich, Bayern, Germany

Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States