Spicy Mexican Style Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Absolutely loved this recipe. I used two cups of rice and two cans of black beans. It was a huge hit. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I simplified the recipe a little and found it to be delicious as a burrito filling and we got about 5 dinner servings out of it. I threw in a little fresh garlic instead of the powdered, and used four yellow summer squash and 2 zucchini, and added two chopped green peppers before baking. I cooked a half cup of raw rice, and threw in all that it produced when cooked. I also drained one can of pinto beans and threw them all in. I used about 4 oz of salsa as we're not big on spicy and we had a half empty jar in the fridge so I threw that in :-) I also mixed in the cup of cheese but omitted any on top. This is a really good base recipe so feel free to simplify or alter as I did, the results are great. Results from 2nd attempt: used five zucchini, skipped onion, cooked up what was left in a couple bags of beans--recipe is so adaptable. Skip the tsp cayenne, though, it was too hot for us (w/only ~2Tbl homemade salsa!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
We substituded black beans for the pinto and I didn't have paprika in the house and this recipe still came out delicious. We used Sargento's 4 cheese mexican mix and the whole thing was gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nygrl4evr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Boyfriend really liked, but I thgouth it was alright, which surprised me since it has a BBQ flavor and he is vegetarian and typically does not like the taste/smell/thought of BBQ sauce. Will make again, but may modify just a little. Served on chili tortilla wraps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADE1977

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Good recipe. Made exactly as recipe stated.....needed something else. Next night added some chicken to the leftovers and much better. If I make it again, will add chicken again and a little more of the spices a little bland for my family. All in all a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
This dish earned rave reviews from both my husband and myself! The only tweaks I made were to cut the cayenne pepper to 1/2 teaspoon and to not put the extra cheese on top of the casserole. Also, we assembled the dish over the weekend, refrigerated, then heated in the oven during the week. I found I had to double the oven time to 40 minutes with the dish being so cold to start with -- so just keep that in mind if you use this approach too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This was fairly tasty but a very heavy meal which is not so much my style. I prefer something a little lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISPYSTUFF

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I made this for 3 adults tonight, and all of us loved it. I'll definitely make it again. I used 3/4 tsp. of cayenne pepper and red beans instead of pinto beans, but otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. Spicy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Yum!! Used noodles instead of rice though. Loved it! I used half zucchini and half yellow squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This recipe was alright. I made a few changes...I left out the oregano and used black beans instead of pinto beans (that's what I had on hand). Also, I added about 1 1/2 tablespoons of chipotle hot sauce to the salsa and it added some flavour and heat. Not sure if I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRUNOSBETH

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States