Spicy Mexican Style Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
Great flavor but too dry after baking. I will add chicken broth to it next time to adjust for what liquid the rice will continue to absorb in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Delicious - just add cumin!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalnems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by eholt
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Soupy, maybe I should have cooked the zucchini longer?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I skipped the part about baking it since everything was already cooked. This was a good tasting but sloppy pot of food. This could easily be adjusting in any number of ways and still really in a similar trading healthy meal. I made several adjustments. I used garlic powder and 1 teaspoon pink Himalayan salt instead of garlic salt; 2 cups of cooked rice instead of just 1; black beans instead of pinto beans; ½ teaspoon cayenne instead of a whole teaspoon, 1½ cups salsa since I wanted to see how little I could get by with; and a small amount of smoked applewood cheddar and about 4 ounces of regular sharp cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This was delicious! My family enjoyed and there were no leftovers! I browned chorizo and added to the veggie mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Awesome meal! If you like a tasty but not overly spicy meal then my husband and I recommend using mild salsa and only an 1/8 of the hot pepper. It was so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This recipe is good. We ate it with tortillas, sour cream, extra salsa, cheese, lettuce & tomato. I forgot to add the oregano which I will remember to add next time I make it. I didn't add as much cheese either. I felt like it was missing a little something but I will be making it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This is such a great recipe and has become a staple in our dinner rotation! I make this almost exactly like the recipe describes. My only changes are using about 2.25 lbs of zucchini instead of the full 3 lbs, using a can of pinto beans which ends up being slightly more than the recipe calls for, and about a cup and a half of cooked white rice. I also added shredded chicken once and it was good too, but really not necessary. DH says this is the one entree I make that he is okay with not having some form of meat in it. It is delicious and very satisfying. An AllRecipes favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This is a cheesy and spicy casserole which contains zucchini, onion, garlic, rice, pinto beans, salsa, cheddar, and spices. I slightly adjusted some of the ingredients to get the desired portion size. If you are very sensitive to heat, I suggest lowering the amount of cayenne pepper used. Guacamole, sour cream, and tomato garnishes really help to tie the flavors in this dish together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States