Spicy Mexican Style Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This was delicious! My family enjoyed and there were no leftovers! I browned chorizo and added to the veggie mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Awesome meal! If you like a tasty but not overly spicy meal then my husband and I recommend using mild salsa and only an 1/8 of the hot pepper. It was so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This recipe is good. We ate it with tortillas, sour cream, extra salsa, cheese, lettuce & tomato. I forgot to add the oregano which I will remember to add next time I make it. I didn't add as much cheese either. I felt like it was missing a little something but I will be making it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This is such a great recipe and has become a staple in our dinner rotation! I make this almost exactly like the recipe describes. My only changes are using about 2.25 lbs of zucchini instead of the full 3 lbs, using a can of pinto beans which ends up being slightly more than the recipe calls for, and about a cup and a half of cooked white rice. I also added shredded chicken once and it was good too, but really not necessary. DH says this is the one entree I make that he is okay with not having some form of meat in it. It is delicious and very satisfying. An AllRecipes favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This is a cheesy and spicy casserole which contains zucchini, onion, garlic, rice, pinto beans, salsa, cheddar, and spices. I slightly adjusted some of the ingredients to get the desired portion size. If you are very sensitive to heat, I suggest lowering the amount of cayenne pepper used. Guacamole, sour cream, and tomato garnishes really help to tie the flavors in this dish together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This dish was very tasty. I used jalapeño ranch style beans and Central Market salsa. I added ground turkey and left out the rice. My husband said I should make it often. It will be part of my monthly rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Driftwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
this turned out really good.. made this for bf and bf's daughter.. she doesn't like spicy so i used mild salsa and left out the cayenne.. super quick and easy and they both liked it a lot.. used cannellini beans instead of pinto and maybe a little more cheese for the topping.. thank you so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
This was great! I think the only thing it was missing was more veggie's, and I also used mozzerella! Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I made this recipe as is except i added one green and red pepper. I also used about 2 lbs. of zucchini instead of 3 lbs. I omitted the oregano and used 1 cup brown rice instead of long grain. It was good but a little spicy for my husband I love spice so it was perfect. I also didn't cover it while cooking and it was fine. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Harroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
WOW! I thought this would be a great way to use some extra zucchini, but it turned out to be a new family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States