Spicy Mexican Style Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Delicious - just add cumin!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalnems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by eholt
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Soupy, maybe I should have cooked the zucchini longer?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I skipped the part about baking it since everything was already cooked. This was a good tasting but sloppy pot of food. This could easily be adjusting in any number of ways and still really in a similar trading healthy meal. I made several adjustments. I used garlic powder and 1 teaspoon pink Himalayan salt instead of garlic salt; 2 cups of cooked rice instead of just 1; black beans instead of pinto beans; ½ teaspoon cayenne instead of a whole teaspoon, 1½ cups salsa since I wanted to see how little I could get by with; and a small amount of smoked applewood cheddar and about 4 ounces of regular sharp cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This was delicious! My family enjoyed and there were no leftovers! I browned chorizo and added to the veggie mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Awesome meal! If you like a tasty but not overly spicy meal then my husband and I recommend using mild salsa and only an 1/8 of the hot pepper. It was so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This recipe is good. We ate it with tortillas, sour cream, extra salsa, cheese, lettuce & tomato. I forgot to add the oregano which I will remember to add next time I make it. I didn't add as much cheese either. I felt like it was missing a little something but I will be making it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This is such a great recipe and has become a staple in our dinner rotation! I make this almost exactly like the recipe describes. My only changes are using about 2.25 lbs of zucchini instead of the full 3 lbs, using a can of pinto beans which ends up being slightly more than the recipe calls for, and about a cup and a half of cooked white rice. I also added shredded chicken once and it was good too, but really not necessary. DH says this is the one entree I make that he is okay with not having some form of meat in it. It is delicious and very satisfying. An AllRecipes favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This is a cheesy and spicy casserole which contains zucchini, onion, garlic, rice, pinto beans, salsa, cheddar, and spices. I slightly adjusted some of the ingredients to get the desired portion size. If you are very sensitive to heat, I suggest lowering the amount of cayenne pepper used. Guacamole, sour cream, and tomato garnishes really help to tie the flavors in this dish together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This dish was very tasty. I used jalapeño ranch style beans and Central Market salsa. I added ground turkey and left out the rice. My husband said I should make it often. It will be part of my monthly rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Driftwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
this turned out really good.. made this for bf and bf's daughter.. she doesn't like spicy so i used mild salsa and left out the cayenne.. super quick and easy and they both liked it a lot.. used cannellini beans instead of pinto and maybe a little more cheese for the topping.. thank you so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States