Spicy Mexican Style Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Gcgirl18
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This is a cheesy and spicy casserole which contains zucchini, onion, garlic, rice, pinto beans, salsa, cheddar, and spices. I slightly adjusted some of the ingredients to get the desired portion size. If you are very sensitive to heat, I suggest lowering the amount of cayenne pepper used. Guacamole, sour cream, and tomato garnishes really help to tie the flavors in this dish together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This dish was very tasty. I used jalapeño ranch style beans and Central Market salsa. I added ground turkey and left out the rice. My husband said I should make it often. It will be part of my monthly rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Driftwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
this turned out really good.. made this for bf and bf's daughter.. she doesn't like spicy so i used mild salsa and left out the cayenne.. super quick and easy and they both liked it a lot.. used cannellini beans instead of pinto and maybe a little more cheese for the topping.. thank you so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
This was great! I think the only thing it was missing was more veggie's, and I also used mozzerella! Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I made this recipe as is except i added one green and red pepper. I also used about 2 lbs. of zucchini instead of 3 lbs. I omitted the oregano and used 1 cup brown rice instead of long grain. It was good but a little spicy for my husband I love spice so it was perfect. I also didn't cover it while cooking and it was fine. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Harroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
WOW! I thought this would be a great way to use some extra zucchini, but it turned out to be a new family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Me and my boyfriend loved this. Did not use paprika or oregano because I did not have it. The first time I used the 2.5 cups of salsa, but thought it was a little too much. The second time, I used a little under two cups and thought it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Thamk you for an incredibly tasty way to use squash! This was a great inspiration recipe to tailor to the veggies I had available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This recipe is wonderful as is. I had to make a few adjustments d/t lack of ingredients on hand. I increased the onion, used brown rice, a full can of pinto beans and fresh salsa. I used garlic cubes which contained the spices listed (and than some) less the cayenne pepper. Added a side of baby carrots and we were good to go. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Love this recipe! I substituted rice with quinoa (in which case make sure to use less salsa so that it doesn't become too soupy) and used all squash instead of zucchini. Add a little fresh cilantro and throw it in a wrap - delicious and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States