Spicy Mexican Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I have been eating this salad for the past week and it is delicious. I made 2 modifications by crumbling the spicy chips and also added shredded grilled chicken for more calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I made this tonight but I didn't have black beans. It was still good without them. I also used homemade Catalina dressing. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Very tasty! I used the "spicy ranch" dressing, and added chopped onion and black olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gocoastl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
This salad was very tasty. I made it for a dinner party I was having and wanted to make a different type salad. I used block Monterey cheese, cut into small chunks, used garbanzo beans in place of pinto beans, did not use the black beans because I was using them in another dish I was serving, added black olives and sliced red onion, whole cherry tomatoes and hot and spicy fritos (served on the side). I served ranch dressing and catalina dressing on the side, allowing the guests to choose for themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Thanks for sharing your recipe! This was so delicious! I added olives and avocado. I would highly recommend this dish, the flavors together were out of this world! I will be making this again and again because it was that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
1-6-12: Used the Catalina dressing from the 'Catalina Spinach Salad' recipe here. Made a great salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This recipe has been around for many years. We used to always make it for parties back in the 70's. We just called it Catalina Salad. We didn't have black beans then though; that's a new addition. I can't imagine it with any other dressing on it. The Fritos and Catalina dressing are really what makes this dish. We did add some onion to it too sometimes. I can see a lot of people are saying they added some browned ground beef. That seems like a logical addition. But, don't you just hate it when someone changes 10 things and then has the gall to rate a recipe? I mean it's not even the same recipe if you change or leave out more than one thing in my opinion. Changing the dressing on this one is a big no-no to me. At least try it the original way first. Oh well, that's just me. I'm just glad we have this great website to get good ideas for awesome dishes. Keeps things fresh and exciting in the kitchen. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Merkel, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
My mother in law has made a version of this for 30 years but her recipe is slightly different. Add 1 chopped onion to the salad, grate cheddar cheese, chop 1 slightly ripe avocado and add both with Fritoes and Catalina dressing. This is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
How, exactly, is this "spicy?" And the bean to lettuce/veggies ratio was waaay outta whack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States