Spicy Melted Cheese Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
I fried the ground beef and sausage and then drained off the fat in a metal colander...a must. Then I mixed everything in a crockpot until the cheese melted. For the tomatoes, I used a can of Mexican Rotel tomatoes. Served with tortilla chips, this is a great party dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I add 1 onion and 1 bell pepper to this recipe and it's almost a meal in itself. I put it on baked potatoes or serve it with chips. Makes a great side dish for whatever you want to put it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stinkie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I tweeked it to our tastes. I used all ground beef and used 2 cans stewed tomatoes and 2 cans chopped chilies. I also put it in the crockpot. Now that I think about it, I changed it quite a bit. But it is very very good, especially with "Scoops".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jojo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This has always been a favorite of our family. The only change is adding a can of cream of celery soup,this not only adds to the flavor but also makes more. Also you can add a few dashes of cayenne pepper to give it more kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine Hopper
Photo by LeahAnn
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I made this three time already (Thanksgiving, Christmas party, and again for my hubby). It was delicious and will be a main recipe in our household. I did use 1/2 ground beef and 1/2 Jimmy Dean Hearty Sausage Crumbles the first time (all sausage other times...prefer combo) and fried it up and combined everything in a crock pot lined with a slow cooker liner---it's a must!! No need to scrub the melted on cheese. Just throw away the bag. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeahAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This dip is always a hit at get togethers. I usually make it with ground beef only. Clean up is not fun because the cheese hardens onto everything, but it's quick and easy to make! Sometimes I use Velveeta with diced chiles for some extra heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
THis recipe is great! I usually use rotel tomatoes and green chilis, but I double it for some extra flavor! Also, if I'm feelingin lazy, I just skip frying the meat and throw in a can of hormel beanless chilie. It actually adds more flavor and the dip turns out just amazing, it is always a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
love love love this dip.....i use spicy sausage,ground and mexican velveeta....i also add cream of mushroom soup......if you don't have diced tomatoes on hand salsa is a good substitute.....we keep ours in the crockpot on low and serve with tortilla chips and warmed soft flour tortilla yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This recipe is easy to make. I typically make this in the crockpot and add a little bit of milk (1 TBSP) to keep the cheese from hardening as fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla.Raylene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This was a great treat! I used 1lb. spicy sausage only and served with "scoops". What a hit! My brother wanted to save some for his eggs in the am! Much to his dislike, there wasn't any LEFT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States