Spicy Mango Sweet Potato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
My whole family loved this sweet and spicy dish. It was also fairly easy and quick, great for a weeknight supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Easy and full of flavor. I used non-stick spray instead of the oil. I served it over whole wheat pasta. This dish is super duper healthy yet it doesn't taste boring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I was worried that this may be a bit bland or too sweet and it turned out beautifully. Our hot sauce of choice was sriacha rooster sauce and I only used one tbls instead of three and it had a very nice warmth to it. I also baked the chicken instead of fry. Poured it over some soba noodles and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
The flavor was exactly what one would expect from the title, a complementary mix of heat and natural sugars. The soft texture of the boiled sweet potatoes added a point of interest to the dish. The sauce, however, was a little too thin, even after adding corn starch and simmering for a bit longer. Still overall a great Spring meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pavlovspetpeeve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I thought this dish was ok. Nothing special. I liked that it was a healthier meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Was really, really good. I made this just for me, and veganized it. I replaced tofu for the chicken, and pressed for 10 minutes before hand. I used equal parts water and brown sugar in place of the honey, and used only 1/2 teaspoon of hot sauce and soy sauce. It turned out with the perfect sweetness and saltiness, but for those who like spicy it definitely could have used more. Overall great recipe and easy to make for one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I would definately make again...loved the sweetness of the mango. I don't like foods too spicy so I left out some of the hot sauce. I would have liked a bit more depth of flavor in the sauce... may play with ginger or curry next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Made this for Father's Day dinner. It was so yummy and way easier then I thought it would be. I only added half the suggested amount of hot sauce (figured I could add more if needed) and it was just the right amount of heat for us. A very unique and different recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Delicious! This recipe was very flavorful and relatively easy to make. The only changes I made (completely based on personal preference, not because it needed something) were to add walnuts to the finished dish and also to pour some honey over the top of it when it's done -- that way you can really taste the sweet and spicy together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatyDid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I made the recipe as written, and while I found the sweet potatoes slightly overcooked, the overall result was great. It tastes just like stir-fry, and even my fruit and veggie hating husband ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Saint Clair, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States