Spicy Mango Sweet Potato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This was delicious - I made it exactly as written, except I doubled the garlic and used mango honey from the Farmer's Market. It was the perfect heat and the flavours went so well together. My only complaint is that this is not 5 servings - there were 5 of us and pretty scant portions each. Regardless, this is being added to my dinner rotation - it got rave reviews from everyone who ate it! Served with white rice and a spinach salad on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PolkaDot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Yummy! I used the tamari soy sauce, and it made it a bit too salty, but that is hard to avoid. Maybe next time use half tamari, half low sodium soy sauce? Served it on top of rice, it was a good blend of hot and sweet. Hard to tell the difference between the sweet potato and the mango, but it all tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Great recipe that covers all the taste buds...but the best thing? My kids love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This is soo delicious!! quite spicy and I loved the mango in it. Sweet but saucy and delicious. Could serve as the main dish for dinner with rice or pasta and a salad. mmmm. Favourite thing so far. Would probably still be good with no hot sauce in it if it needed to be tamed down for some people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This is amazing! Serve over rice with some asparagus and you're family will be so impressed. Just the right amount of sweet and hot. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dlemmo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ojai, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This was a fantastic dish! It is very spicy, but my family likes spicy food, so this was a hit with them. I served it over rice vermicelli that you can buy at Asian supermarkets. We will definitely make this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Very good, but a little too sweet. I will make this again with the following changes: 1. elk instead of chicken. I think the flavor will stand up better to all the other flavors. 2. less honey. sorry, just too sweet. 3. add fish sauce...maybe 1/2t. 4. rice, not pasta. pasta is wierd with this-it will be better with rice. One thing is that we usually eat medium salsa and like hot stuff...don't be scared of 3 T of hot sauce-I used 2 T of sambal oelek and should have used all 3T. Other than that, healthy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Excellent combination of flavors-sweet, hot and a little spicy. I always nuke/bake potatoes til almost done and continue cooking with the remaining ingredients. Did not use the cornstarch to thicken and still was great. Perhaps just a bit more seasoning on the chicken to bring it up a notch. Thanks for a great dish we will enjoy again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This turned out better than I expected - after the first bite I was still nervous - but it grew on me. I used more garlic and decreased the honey and the hot sauce. Next time I'll only use a little mango - the chunks were not my favorite. Had this with naan and brown rice. Yum! My 2 year old enjoyed it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Totally enjoyed this chicken. I will be making this again. My husband and I love the sweet and heat in this recipe. I served it with brown rice and broccoli and I will now keep this recipe on hand when we feel like an Asian chicken meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States