Spicy Mango Sweet Potato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This was very good. I didn't make any changes except that I used whatever soy sauce was in my house, not tamari. I will definitely be eating this again, and again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This is great! It was a little salty so I think I will decrease the soy sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This was really good. I'm giving this a 4 because I think it does needs something with a little extra crunch and color (might try the asparagus as someone suggested) because the sweet potatoes and mango are so soft. I'll probably try roasting the sweet potatoes too. I toned down the spice a lot for my little guys, less than 1 Tbsp in the sauce and no pepper flakes, and then my husband and I added the spice at the table which worked well. I used cayenne pepper sauce (Franks) because I figured sriracha would be too hot but I do think the sriracha would be perfect. I used regular soy since that's what I had on hand, and I served it with couscous. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
The soy sauce was WAY too overpowering, so much so that we couldn't eat much of it. This recipe was a big flop in my house, all of the flavors got lost so I can't say if there was enough mango or not. If you cut the soy sauce down, it might be an interesting meal but I agree that it needs something green and crunchy to add some variety to the visual and textural appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I am the chef for 30 people for lunch a couple of times a week, and this got a perfect review from everyone! I served it with one inch cut and baked asparagus and quadrupled the chicken. Excellent meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Purcellville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I really liked this dish. I cut down the spice to 1 Tbs. hot sauce and 1/8 tsp. red pepper flakes. I think I will add some red bell pepper and maybe some green onions next time for a little crisp veggie texture. I used reduced sodium tamari and thought the salt content was just right with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Loved it! Even the ones in my family who don't eat mangoes likes it. My hubby got seconds, and he is one who is really picky about texture. I did double the sweet potatoes, and added an extra half of mango cause that's what I had on hand. Cause my kids don't like spicy, I only put 1 tbsp of hot sauce and added a little honey to my daughter's plate. I had some leftover rice which I served on the side, but good with or without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
noone in myfam liked this recipe. i followed it step by step and didnt change a thing. i will never be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I would give this 4-1/2 stars. . . It was a perfect blend of sweet & spice! I goofed & already had diced fresh mango mixed with diced fresh tomatoes, so my version included tomatoes. I also added a tad of onion cooked with the garlic. I doubled the amount of garlic (we love it), and only used a few splashes hot sauce. I did use a generation pinch of red pepper flakes. I also added in a pinch of ground ginger & cumin. It was very runny, but I didn't serve it over rice (didn't think I would need 2 carbs. . . potatoes & rice). . .I thought wrong. . . definitely serve over rice. I may cut down the liquid slightly the next time I make it, but I will be making this again! Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honduras Missionary Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tegucigalpa, Francisco Morazán, Honduras

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
great recipe! I also added some green veggies, like asparagus for a beautifully colored dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States