Spicy Mango Sweet Potato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Wow! This was even better than I thought it would be!! I served it over brown rice and it was a hit with both my boyfriend and I. The only changes I made were I seasoned the sweet potato (I also added some red pepper, onion and cherry tomatoes) with cinnamon, cumin and ginger and then roasted it for 40 min and 400 degrees. I also didn't add any of the hot things as a matter of taste. I can't do spicy :s
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
The perfect balance of heat and sweet. This was easy and delicious. I served it over spinach noodles. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MellowDee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This was very good. I didn't make any changes except that I used whatever soy sauce was in my house, not tamari. I will definitely be eating this again, and again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This is great! It was a little salty so I think I will decrease the soy sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This was really good. I'm giving this a 4 because I think it does needs something with a little extra crunch and color (might try the asparagus as someone suggested) because the sweet potatoes and mango are so soft. I'll probably try roasting the sweet potatoes too. I toned down the spice a lot for my little guys, less than 1 Tbsp in the sauce and no pepper flakes, and then my husband and I added the spice at the table which worked well. I used cayenne pepper sauce (Franks) because I figured sriracha would be too hot but I do think the sriracha would be perfect. I used regular soy since that's what I had on hand, and I served it with couscous. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
The soy sauce was WAY too overpowering, so much so that we couldn't eat much of it. This recipe was a big flop in my house, all of the flavors got lost so I can't say if there was enough mango or not. If you cut the soy sauce down, it might be an interesting meal but I agree that it needs something green and crunchy to add some variety to the visual and textural appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I am the chef for 30 people for lunch a couple of times a week, and this got a perfect review from everyone! I served it with one inch cut and baked asparagus and quadrupled the chicken. Excellent meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Purcellville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I really liked this dish. I cut down the spice to 1 Tbs. hot sauce and 1/8 tsp. red pepper flakes. I think I will add some red bell pepper and maybe some green onions next time for a little crisp veggie texture. I used reduced sodium tamari and thought the salt content was just right with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Loved it! Even the ones in my family who don't eat mangoes likes it. My hubby got seconds, and he is one who is really picky about texture. I did double the sweet potatoes, and added an extra half of mango cause that's what I had on hand. Cause my kids don't like spicy, I only put 1 tbsp of hot sauce and added a little honey to my daughter's plate. I had some leftover rice which I served on the side, but good with or without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
noone in myfam liked this recipe. i followed it step by step and didnt change a thing. i will never be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States