Spicy Mango Sweet Potato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
So, I like the idea, but the recipe as written is terrible. First, as others mentioned, it is way too salty. Perhaps it was supposed to read 6 teaspoons of tamari? I used only half of what was called for and it was barely edible. Also, the proportion of the meat to "veggies" was way off. I had to hunt around for pieces of non-meat. I also had to up the hot sauce (I used sriracha). To improve this, I would replace the mango and sweet potato with real vegetables, because with a sweet sauce, you barely notice them. Then, I would use 3 tablespoons of tamari and 1 tablespoon of fish sauce to add more complexity. I also only use boneless skinless thighs, as they stay more moist. I served it over quinoa, which was great, as there was lots of sauce (it was more like a stew than a stir-fry, which I liked about the recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Turned out great! Family loved it. I didn't have soy sauce, used teriyaki sauce instead. Still tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenHendrks

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Used less hot sauce & red pepper flakes for people who dont like too spicy. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This is surprisingly good! I think it is more sweet than spicy but not overly so. The mix of mangoes and sweet potatoes with the sauce is very delightful. Serve with rice for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Maybe I did it wrong... I just wasn't a fan of the sweet potatoes... The sauce was really good... I'd make it again swapping pineapple for the sweet potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
We like this a lot but I wouldn't say it's the best or anything. Definitely very good thought and a keeper in our book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I added and extra garlic because I love garlic! I also used 4 tablespoons of soy sauce instead of the 6 & it was AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I am vegan so I made this vegan friendly. It was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This didn't live up to it's reviews. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kele
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Delicious - made as per the recipe & everyone loved it. It is definately a make again and again recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States