Spicy Mango Sweet Potato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This was a surprise...I couldn't imagine how this was going to work out, but I had everything on hand so I tried it - it has a great taste with some kick. I would say it's almost like an American curry substitute. I'm eating the dish by itself (and I didn't add chicken), because, like a previous reviewer, I can't see how I can add in more starch. I'll keep checking back to see if I can find something else to put under it. I think I'll try some asian noodles next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMULLARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
LOVED IT! We served it over rice. My kids were not crazy about it, but they don’t like oriental food. We did us 1 cup of pineapple instead of the mango, because my husband does not like mango. I will be making this often. Next time I think I might add some green pepper and onion to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This recipe was awesome! My husband and I LOVED it! Loved everything about it! The sweet with the spicy...it was just as good, if not better the next day for lunch! The only thing I did differently was roast the sweet potatoes (40mins/400*) in the oven. I think it actually helped the texture as the potatoes were a little crispy around the edges and held together after the sauce was added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I'm the chef at a residential center responsible for feeding 40 people lunch and dinner, five days a week. When I found this recipe, I thought it sounded really good. So I made it for dinner tonight. Let me say that there are now 41 people who agree that this is just plain *delicious*!! A little sweetness, a little heat. Most excellent!! In fact, a dozen of our clients have asked for copies of the recipe. Thank you, ArianeK!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ode

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
So yummy! A great recipe to play with too. The sweet potatoes are mild, so next time we're trying yams. I'm having fantasies of purple and orange yams, plantains and bell peppers. We put carrots in to round out the food groups, and I sliced a fresh tomato into it at the end. Wonderful. We used 1 1/2 tbsp of Sriracha hot sauce, and it was warm without burning. Definitely needed three x's the cornstarch, but that is up to how thick you want your sauce. I'd suggest adding the mango last just to heat it so it doesn't get mushy. Very tasty, we'll definitely be making it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERAPHIMJEZEBEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This dish is fairly simple to prepare, though there's not much more flavor than the basic main ingredients: the chicken, potatoes, and mango. I'd suggest using more corn starch to thicken the sauce more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niccers
Home Town: Gilroy, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
We really enjoyed this dish. It was quick - one of those dishes where something else is simmering or cooling while you're prepping the next step. The sauce reminds me of Chinese sweet and sour sauce. I used 2 tbsps of hot sauce, no red pepper flakes, and deboned chicken thighs. I also had to add 3 tsp of corn starch (w/ the accompanying 3 tbsp water) in order to get the sauce to reach a thicker consistency. I didn't drain the chicken after transferring it to another dish. If you like sweet and sour chicken, give this a try. The mango provides a complimentary taste. I might try yams next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This was an excellent recipe. Next time I will add some red pepper and scale back on the sweet potato. I served over rice and I liked it to soak up some of the sauce, but I didn't need all that starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALLIE_TORONTO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chocoluvs
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
DELICIOUS!!!!!! Awesome sweet and spicy mixture...making again and again!!!!! Didnt even need rice or noodles, just a nice side of asparagus and voila!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Something the entire family liked! (A rare event.) Next time I would double the veggies/mango and the sauce. Not enough sauce to flavor the pasta as well as I would like. My daughter loves mango and sweet potatos - so she ate most of the veggies. Besides, I like left overs for work and they ate EVERYTHING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States