Spicy Mango Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 25, 2003
This is very good, however I juiced it up a bit with a 2tablespoons of fresh OJ, two green onions and 1/4 cup of cilantro, what with me being from Texas and all I had to double up on the peppers. But it is very nice as an appetizer with chips and beer for a nice stuffed pork chopped dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
I would use less pepper and cut the recipe in half so it won't spoil, unless I was doing a big BBQ. This was GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
went REAL well with pork chops cooked on the grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
Delicious! I tried it with grilled fish. Others are correct, you could half the recipe and still have enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
Worthy of 4 stars with slight modification. Like another reviewer suggested -- over-gingered! A little goes a long way, so add ginger sequentially to taste. Fresh produce is mandatory. The spiciness is pepper dependent, just like garlic varieties -- so sample to know your ingredients. This makes a large quantity (10 servings) and you need to eat it while fresh. We used it as a side dish to Jay's jerk chicken (on this site) and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
Excellent. I made this for a labor day party & everyone wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
I would've given this salsa at least 4 stars, if it had not been for the overpowering taste of the grated ginger. The ginger taste was too strong for the delicate flavors of the peaches and mangoes. I'll try this one again, minus the ginger...then it will be great! Also, half the recipe is *more* than enough for my family of three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
Great salsa. Cilantro, but not too much, gives it a really nice flavor. I also added 1/2 of a white onion chopped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
Absolutely wonderful. I did not use the basil or ginger root but did put in cilantro. I love the sweet hot taste of the salsa. I diffinately am hooked on mango salsa. Thanks for the recipe. I made extra salsa and froze it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
This is an excellent recipe. I added pineapple and mixed pineapple juice to the lime juice. This Salsa is VERY spicy. Next time I will dull it down and use less garlic and ginger. Overall, very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mango Salsa

Watch how to make this sweet, spicy salsa.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Grilled Tilapia with Mango Salsa

A simple fresh mango salsa takes grilled tilapia straight to the top!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States