Spicy Mango Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
Very nice indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
Yawn...this just wasn't a big hit at my house. I was so excited to try something with mangos since I'd never had any before. I received tips from the Produce Manager on picking them out. Since fresh peaches are not in season here in Oklahoma, I had to use peaches from a fruit cup. Maybe that's what was wrong. I used fresh giner and cilantro. I also added some green onion, and a tiny bit of pineapple. Instead of using both seranno peppers I used 1 banana pepper in place of 1 serrano to keep it from being so hot. I pureed in the blender because we like salsa that way, and I think it blends all the tastes together. Anyway, it was just "okay". If I ever make this again it will have to be in peak peach season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
Served this dish with Tuna Sandwiches for a lunch with unexpected visit with relatives. They loved it, took the recipe home with them. Has a nice, fresh crunch taste to it, with the peppers. Different, too. Definitely a Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
Looks strange on paper, but it's delicious! I always use powdered ginger in place of fresh, just a personal preference, and I reduced the peppers just a bit. The sweet-hot taste is wonderful with simple grilled fish, etc. But unless you're going to eat a lot of it (not a bad thought) I would reduce the recipe - the longer it sits, the HOTTER it gets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
Great salsa! The flavors marry well together! Try to get the mango that's really ripe. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
Very good! Used half the ginger. This dish served well with Jay's Jerk Chicken and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
I added tomato and onion which ended up with a nice mixture of flavors. Very tasty. Loved the sweetness of the fruit with the other ingredients. Used salsa with chips and also as a topping to a cajun catfish recipe. It was a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curly girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
This was awesome...but, I only used the recipe as a guide. I diced up one mango, one peach, and used one small can of pineapple tidbits, two scallions, half of a jalapeno pepper, diced very small, one teaspoon of minced garlic from the jar,a sprinkle or two of ground ginger, about a teaspoon of dried cilantro, half fresh lime juice and half pineapple juice (from the tidbits can) to equal 1/4 cup...mixed all together and let it sit in the fridge for about 2 hours. Made chicken tenderloins on the George Forman, then cooked in skillet with teriyaki sauce to heat. After chicken was done...heated salsa in micro for 1 minute, poured over chicken. Served with teriyaki rice and green beans...WAS AWESOME!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOLFANCHICK1027

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
I have made this twice so far for different parties and it has been a success both times. I serve this with sweet potato chips and it's really great. I used jalepeno instead of serano and it's still hot enough. This is a keeper for something unique and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
whoa batman - too hot. i don't know if my peppers & ginger were spicier than the recipe owner gets - but i would start with half and move upwards, unless you're planning on a tablespoon heaped upon a meat dish - i served this as a dip and it sure kept the drinks moving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mango Salsa

Watch how to make this sweet, spicy salsa.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Grilled Tilapia with Mango Salsa

A simple fresh mango salsa takes grilled tilapia straight to the top!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States