Spicy Mango Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This recipe is very tasty. I was looking for a sweet and spicy topping for chicken. This fit the bill wonderfully. The mangoes and peaches I used were not very sweet, so I added about two teaspoons of sugar. I used a pinch of ground ginger, pinch of salt too. Jalapenos instead of Serrano peppers and cilantro instead of basil. It takes a while to chop everything up though, but worth it. I let it chill about three hours and didn't feel like cooking the chicken by then, so I made turkey wraps with cream cheese on tortillas and added the salsa. Delicious! Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
I love, love LOVE this recipe! I use it on top of crab cakes or other seafood. I use jalepenos to make it a tad less hot and use cilantro instead of basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
You'll love this recipe. Great with jerk chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This has a really wonderful bright and fresh taste. The only change I made was to use Nectarines instead of peaches simply because of personal preferance. I paired this with "Jay's Jerk Chicken" from this site for a family get together and it was gobbled up quickly! My mom even asked me for the recipe, usually it's the other way around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Vermont, USA
Living In: Mansfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
This recipe got rave review but I changed it slightly from the original recipe. I decrease the amout of garlic to 1/4 tsp and the chile peppers to 1/4 tsp (about 1/2 of pepper). The original amount of garlic was overpowering and I was making this for a large group so I did not want to make it spicy. It got rave reviews at the party I brought it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dumont, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
Made this for a Jimmy Buffett concert, and it was good. 18 people tailgating with us, and 13 liked it. The others thought it was too hot. I personally, liked the mix of heat with cool. This was eaten with cilantro-lime chips and went well together. Next time, I'd like more variety in the fruits used. Will most likely add dived papaya, maybe replace the basil with cilantro (mmmmmmm), tone down the heat a little (use jalapeno instead of serrano), and add dices avocado for the additional fat. Of course, I love avocados too. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
Mixed reviews from my bunch, I think it just needed tomato. May try again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
i could eat this every day, all day. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Only changes: Didn't add ginger and used cilantro rather than basil. Topped goat cheese quesadillas with salsa...Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
I did not like the flavor at all. Maybe without the ginger next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mango Salsa

Watch how to make this sweet, spicy salsa.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Grilled Tilapia with Mango Salsa

A simple fresh mango salsa takes grilled tilapia straight to the top!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States